We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carroll Villa Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Jetty Motel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$280
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avondale by the Sea(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$355
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Inn(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capri Motor Lodge(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Cape May)
$338
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wilbraham Mansion(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$355
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angel of the Sea(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$389
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Club Hotel(Cape May)
$499
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mer Beachfront Inn(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$404
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Congress Hall(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$489
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,315)
Filter reviews
1,315 results
Traveler rating
781
383
88
39
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
781
383
88
39
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmad batter restaurantmad hatterbreakfast or lunchgreat happy hourliving socialjackson streettrolley tourattached restaurantmy husband and ihalf blockhotel guestsget awaythe room was niceoff seasonmid weekbed and breakfastno elevator
Filter
Updating list...
843 - 848 of 1,315 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were married in n j cape may court house in june and chose the carroll villa for our wedding night. The hotel experience was truely like finding the best kept secret in cape may. The warm and friendly staff was such a gift. We just spent an awesome weekend again in november and have allready booked new years eve and new years day in one of the hotels amazing rooms. If you love cape may you need to have the carroll villa and their restaurant mad batter experience. I hope the feeling of relaxation and hassle free vacationing will be yours too if you are lucky enough to treat yourself to the hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yukon03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

A lovely small "Victorian" hotel very close to the beach. You eat in the Mad Batter as an extra, in the same building.

We stayed in the annexe at the front, first floor, in the first week of September. It had been recommended and we booked online via a very pleasant member of staff but I think the hotel is family owned and managed. The room was large with an ensuite, carefully updated and clean with a glimpse of the sea. The bed was comfy and the elderly furniture easily held our lothes but a rail rather than a wardrobe for hanging clothes.

An easy walk to the seafront (under 100 metres) and to the Washington Street open mall.

The hotel owns a restaurant called the Mad Batter on its ground floor, excellent, see my separate review and the hotel will sell you vouchers to eat there.

A couple of warnings. Being an old building, there is no lift (elevator) but the staff will carry your bags upstairs for you. And there is no car park. Outside in the street there are meters but it is difficult to find a space other than the loading bays which you can use for a few minutes. The hotel does supply a free parking pass to an outdoor, unsurfaced car park they advise is an 8 minute walk away. This was spot-on time-wise for me but (as happened once) eight minutes is eight minutes when it starts to rain.

This is written after the hurricane and I have seen photographs and TV about Cape May. I hope that this hotel and all the other buildings, (many quite beautiful if a little kitsch) have survived.

Room Tip: A small hotel across two buildings. We were in the annex on the first floor, overlooking the street. May have ben the best room in the hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david_kravitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Positives: Location on Jackson St., old time, congenial bar scene with live music, Mad Batter restaurant was nice with good serviceand on the premises, comfortable bed.

Negatives: The only hotel parking was at least 1/2 mile away, so darkne ss and inclement weather were inconveniences we hadn't planned on, and unlike other neighborhood hotels, Carroll Villa did not offer any valet services. Our second floor queen bedroom with blue walls (it's the room on their postcard) was shabby: upolsteted furniture worn, battered antiques, dusty pull shades and curtains. The in-room Poland Springs water bottles both had seals already broken and appear to have been simply refilled. Bathroom, very small, doll-sized sink, had broken and rusty baseboatd heating, no adequate reading lights in room or in the main living room of the hotel. Hallway curtains were full of dust, really grungy. One public room, other than the large bar in back, dark and somber, and this seems like neglect, not a reflection of the Victorian period; never saw anyone sitting in there. No place to read with lamp light and have a drink before dinner. The front porch was converted to the Mad Batter restaurant, and this seems to be the main priority for the hotel. At most B&Bs, the owners are visable, there are pleasant interactions with other guests or staff but the folks at Carroll leave you alone to the point if obscurity. I cannot recommend this hotel.

We DID find a lovely respite and dinner right next door from the Carroll at the Virginia Hotel, where we read and had a great dinner at the Ebbit dining room. The staff was welcoming and let us use one of their side visiting rooms to relax and read before dinner. They have valet parking too, at a lot on the next block.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OneLifeToLive100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed for the weekend. I parked my car Friday and didn't get back in it until we were leaving Sunday. We did some sight seeing and took a walk to the beach. We shopped and ate delicious food. The Mad Batter, located on the first floor of the Carrol Villa Hotel, was awesome! Delicious food! Also, they had live music each night and the bloody Mary's are to die! They really were the best I ever had. Speaking of live music, not only the Mad Batter, but everywhere had live music! It was so much fun! Our weekend was too short! We spent a lot of money, but what are you gonna do? I love cape may and our stay there was perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biggyvent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and mself were very pleasently surprised with every aspect of our one night stay at the Carrolla Villa Hotel. Our host was congeniel and made us feel so welcome in every way and was very accomodating about the parking.
Our room was charming and spotless. One does not expect a flat screen TV in Victorian lodgings, but with the convenient location and opportunity to explore charming Cape May, we had little time for viewing. Fall is a beautiful time of year to come.
Food at the Mad Batter was very good and offered a good variety. Again, the staff made the difference for a very pleasent dining experience.
Many Thanks to Carroll Villa and Living Social for giving us this excellent venue with generous inclusions for our much needed R & R.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gotogeezers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews