We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent property but just average.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Decent property but just average.”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My first visit to Cape May. Decided to go with the Carroll Villa based on the reviews and availablity. The hotel does make it clear about the parking situation, but its still a negative. Made check in and check out less than optimal. Next issue is the stairs. We knew there was no elevator and carrying our bags up to the 3rd floor wasn't an issue but we did see other groups that had some difficulties. The hotel should have someone available to help guests upon check in. Room was tiny. Bed was small. Stall shower was terrible, very small. Shower has shampoo, soap and condtioner in a three compartment dispenser, but I had no idea which was which bc there's no label. Kept forgetting to ask the desk. Seems insignificant but it was annoying. There's no outside area to sit and relax as the porch is used for the Mad Batter. Sitting areas of the property are worn down, I realize it's an old property but doesn't seem like much effort is made. Woke up one morning to find the house freezing, with all the windows opened on a cold rainy morning. The hotel is clean, staff is nice and the experience was not bad, but for the price charged I would expect better. Breakfast voucher is a big plus and breakfast is good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d75angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    350
    83
    37
    22
See reviews for
147
777
42
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We booked a Living Social Escape at the Carroll Villa Hotel in Cape May. We had never stayed in Cape May and it's a lovely town. The hotel is in the historic section and right near the beach - a great location. Our escape came with a trolley tour of the historic district, a good bottle of wine in the room, a breakfast voucher for $30 with either a mimosa or bloody mary, 30% off dinner, and wine tasting (which we didn't use). Our room was large with a sitting area and refrigerator and the bathroom was also quite large. We ate dinner at the Mad Batter and it was very good. Portions are too large and my husband had to take his home. Breakfast was also very good and portions also quite large. The only drawback is you have to park in a lot that's a distance from the hotel, but it's a great town to walk around in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seasonedtraveler25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2012

near beach and near the main drag of shops . very NICE people, the resturant attached is VERY GOOD! and they give you coupons for staying there and eating and drinking... YOU MUST try it there!!! very very NICE!

Room Tip: face the water its always a bonus..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcm19146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Carroll Villa was a great introduction to the Cape May area. We had planned on staying one night but added an extra night. The room was excellent, clean, homely, and romantic, with a view of the beach from our window; Carroll Villa is just a few yards from the coast. The breakfasts at the Mad Batter were awesome. The complimentary breakfast vouchers didn't hurt. I applaud the owners for this amazingly cozy B&B. They were a joy to talk to as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayBoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Carroll Villa was a wonderful place to have a romantic getaway. We stayed for one night in September, the weather was perfect. The hotel personnel were very helpful and informative, making our first Cape May experience something that we will definitely do again. The Mad Batter served a great dinner and a fantastic breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie198131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I always enjoy staying at the Carroll Villa. My Nephew and his wife have been four times and I have been able to stay two years in a roll now. Rooms are always excellent, Food is wonderful and the staff are very friendly.

Room Tip: I like the room on the first flood with the porch. My Nephew and his wife enjoy the room on the sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 072001joe05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham. nj
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Love the romantic rooms and professional friendly staff. The Mad Batter restaurant features great food especially the breakfast out on the front porch, so romantic and fun. We stay a week in September and hope that we continue this tradition. The only part that isn't perfect is that we eventually have to go home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
653 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
650 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,246 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 37 in Cape May
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Property: Carroll Villa Hotel
Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing