We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at the Carroll Villa Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this location the weekend of 22 Sept.. Our stay was outstanding. The front service desk personnel were very personable and a pleasure to speak with. The restuarant food at the Mad Batter was outstanding. Best pancakes I've ever had. The bar personnel were also very personable. The room was small but perfect for just my wife and I. Mr. Mark (the owner) made my day. I spoke with him for about 10 minutes regarding New Yoirk sports team. At the end of the conversation Mr. Mark told me he was going to come back later in the day and bring me an autographed picture of Phil Rizzuto (x NY Yankees Shortstop) who he had been friends with for a long time. Upon my return back to the hotel later that night, I went to the front desk and there was the picure waiting for me. The picture is now hanging in my "Man Cave" with the rest of my Yankee memorabilia. I cannot thank him enough for his generosity. He also provided us free drink chips for my wife 50th birthday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louis l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

772 - 778 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had a great time and everyone at the Carroll Villa was extremly friendly and helpful. The breakfast selection was extensive and delicious. And the B & B is right in the center of all that is happeneing in downtown Cape May.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaSpangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Recieved a great deal with another website! THe staff were courteous! The Mad Batter was awesome! It was right in the heart of the town with walking distance to shops! I can't wait to go back and enjoy another night stay there!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 4! It was the king size bed and a corner room so it had lots of windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Carroll Villa is always a great stay - we've been there 3 or 4 times now, I can't remember. The rooms are always well kept, and the breakfast is wonderful at the Mad Batter. We just had our first baby about four months ago and were sad other bed and breakfasts don't take children. Well the Carroll Villa does!

If you're staying at the Carroll Villa they'll give you a discount voucher for dinner. For lunch I would highly recommend the crab cake sandwich! It's the best crab cake sandwich I've ever had-and I've driven down to Cape May (1 hour 45 mins) just to eat lunch at the Mad Batter and get a crab cake sandwich. Call me crazy, but it's delicious.

Room Tip: Although the Annex is pretty much in the back and up some narrow stairs, it's quieter back there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

great deal thru another web site. received a delicous brkfast, champagne and trolley tour which we enjoyed. pain that the parking was a distance away and the room was really small but great that the beach and shopping were close and convenient. noise from other guests dashed away any hope of sleep and a vaccuum running at 8 am was not welcomed either. think we will stick to hotels with a quieter environment.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theonlysusudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The Carroll Villa is a charming place with a very friendly staff. We chose it and were very glad we did for our getaway to Cape May. Parking a problem in Cape May but they provided a place within walking distance. Just a short walk to the beach. The Mad Batter restaurant is excellent with great food. Overall, very nice time.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank 111Gary111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I just had a nice trip to Cape May and stayed in this property. The only piece of advice I would give is to request a room that does NOT face Jackson street. It gets fairly noisy late and early with deliveries, sanitation pickup, etc. While dated, the property is clean and the food at the restaurant was very good.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of property are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
715 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
564 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
725 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $123 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing