We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Mel Stabin Watercolor Workshop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carroll Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mel Stabin Watercolor Workshop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

The Carroll Villa Hotel and Mad Batter restaurant hosted a watercolor workshop with renowned artist Mel Stabin from May 13-17. A group of 21 artists enjoyed four days of study and painting under the tutelage of this talented artist and teacher. The Hotel/restaurant provided students with comfortable rooms, fabulous meals, a wonderful workspace, and the entire staff was friendly, helpful and anticipated our every need. They truly made us all feel very much at home and I look forward to the next art workshop.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Owner at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to convey your experiences at the Mad Batter Restaurant and the Carroll Villa Hotel...We felt that the workshop went very weil in talking to the participants. We also love the idea that the students themselves might become part of our rotating art show which exhibits different artists on a monthly rotating basis. Hope this event becomes the "go to" art school in Cape May! Thanks again. Mark Kulkowitz and Pam Huber.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    332
    78
    34
    21
See reviews for
127
711
41
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We decided to purchase a livingsocial voucher for the Carroll Villa and I'm so glad we did!! Kathi and the staff were very friendly and helpful regarding what to do and where to go! The service and the suggestions were more than generous. The Mad Batter also gad grsat setvice to go with theur great food. We came to Cape May to relax and learn about a new place. We will absolutely come back!!!

Thanks again,
Room 16

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Wife and I were invited to spend a day at Cape May and the weather was lousy (cold, windy, and a little rain). What turned a bad event into something that we look forward to doing again was the staff of the Carroll Villa. From the time we checked in, we were made to feel at home. The bar staff were very friendly and the folks during their "Happy Hour" too. The food at the restaurant both during dinner and especially breakfast, was great! We look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ismael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Loved the hospitality, friendly staff and service. Excellent breakfast meals. Happy Hour was the 'bomb'. Have to agree with negative comments on bed & a/c.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmjde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

When I first chcked with Tripadvisor on Cape May accomodation, I read many favorable reviews and a few that complained about the beds and the indufference of hotel (and restaurant ) staff. I discounted the complaints and booked the hotel. What a disappointment. The mattress in our room was rock hard, and when we told the unsmiling desk clerk we were told the mattress was brand new and not yet "broken in". Whoever gets this bed better practise by sleeping on the floor for a few nights, then maybe you wont get the hip pains we did. By the way, we are experienced trekkers (everest base camp, macchu picchu, kiliminjaro, etc.) and campers, and not soft whiners.The hotel itself is tired to the point of exhaustion, which many reviewers seem to enjoy as "character". The location is very good, close to the beaches, but so are several other hotels and B and B's, all of which are in much better physical condition. The famed Mad Batter restaurant features heavily oiled deep fried fare which must appeal to many reviewers, but we prefer lighter fare. My wife and daughter ordered the apple-something salad on our first night, which came with one solitary small cube of apple. The waitress shrugged when we asked about it. Tough luck. Nor did the waitress ask why my daughter didn't touch her deep,deep fried fish. No one at the hotel showed the slightest interest in us as guests, except for the young man who first booked us in. A thank you to him. The rest of the staff had the "whatever" attitude. On a final note, if you are an early rising birder, definitely go elsewhwere to stay. The Bird Observatory has several hotels on their website, which cater to early risers with coffee brewing long before eight, and box lunches.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Office Manager at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
First, let us say that we are terribly sorry that you had a bad experience in both the Mad Batter and the Carroll Villa. We take pride in making sure that our guests leave our establishments happy and satisfied. In regards to the mattress in your room, we purchase new mattresses on a regular basis and make sure that they are of good quality. The mattresses are also bought accordingly to the industry standard in which they be a bit harder rather than softer. However we did offer to move you to another room that would properly accommodate you, your wife, and your daughter but you refused and stayed in your original room. As for the apple salad and fish n' chips, we offered to remake your salad with more apples yet again you refused our offer to make it right. The fish n' chips is exactly what it is, fried fish and french fries. If it wasn't to her liking we would've taken it back and given her the chance to order something else if you had asked. Again, we are very sorry that you did not have a pleasant time while you were here but we can't make things better if you won't allow us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

we just got back from a 3 day "getaway" at the carroll and would like to comment on the wonderful stay we had.our bed and mattress's were wonderful ! the staff were friendly and helpful. the mad batter is one of the finer restaurant in the state.this is a wonderful spot in cape may.===keep up the good work.
tony and ellen chioffi.

Room Tip: love all of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Owner at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you for writing...Your thoughts put a smile on our faces. As a third generation family business we are happy to have "repeat guests" who become friends....Generation after generation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Loved the service and the hospitality!! Felt at home just without the children! Will recommend friends and family to go!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine_Kennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#11 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#17 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 stars 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#8 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#3 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#10 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Property: Carroll Villa Hotel
Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing