We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good on the Outside; Rough on the Inside” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Cape May
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good on the Outside; Rough on the Inside”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

The outside of this hotel looks great -- cheery, picnic area with BBQ grill, but don't open the door to the rooms -- we had #14. Dirty, old rug. Dark and smelly. Needed paint on wall, especially over the scratches above the futon bed. The bathroom was spacious, but when pulled out lumpy futon to make beds for kids, there was no room to move. Dirt scattered on the bottom of the pool when we touched it. The ladder was missing a rung and the underwater light was broken and hanging by wires. Shower never got hot, but bathroom did --lights put off lots of heat. Location is great, but not close to beach for kids (7 blocks) or downtown. Save money and stay further out -- benefit was pet friendly hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SuitcaseCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    80
    45
    7
    5
See reviews for
82
77
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hicksville, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our 4 day trip to Cape May was made all the better by friendly, clean accommodations and the staff who were attentive and professional. From the manager Christine to the housekeeping staff, our every request was accommodated. We would definitely consider staying here again. To top it off the price was unbelievably low for what we got. The location was surprisingly close to everything as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is a great motel. Away from the crowds but within walking distance to everything. Each unit has a small kitchenette, comfortable bedding and a flat screen TV. The bathrooms are spacious. They do not have a bath tub but offer a large shower. There is a nice pool and outdoor tables with a BBQ area. The prices are very reasonable and some units are even pet friendly!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2KONA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I just finished a visit to Cape May, NJ with another couple. We all stayed at the Madison Avenue Beach Club and overall enjoyed our time there.

Things we liked:
- Location: easy walk to the beach and the Washington Square "Mall" (center of town)
- Trolley stop outside the hotel
- Outdoor area: patio tables and grills for guests to use (We spent a few evenings playing games and having snacks here.)
- Pool area: very clean, good mix of sun and shady spots

Things that could be improved:
- Linens: Both the sheets and towels were worn and scratchy. Higher quality linens are needed.
- Room cleanliness: Our room smelly very musty, almost like a basement with mildew

Overall the hotel was a great value for the location. The Outdoor amenities especially make it a worthwhile choice in Cape May.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCAttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

This motel was exactly what my friends and I were looking for. It was clean and spacious. There were 4 friends traveling together and we had 2 rooms next to each other, great amount of space in the rooms, nice to have the little kitchenette in the room. Well maintained pool and grounds. Some areas are a little worn (like carpet in our room) but otherwise it was just what I had hoped. It's not right on the beach but it's a nice walk down to the water or into town. I would stay here again if/when I return to Cape May.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magalia09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibbstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Just completed a stay and were most pleased with the property. The management was friendly and accomodating. The room (Suncatcher Suite) was spacious enough for me, wife and kids (8 and 5). Location was ideal as it was easy to get to any number of beaches, Washington Street mall, Physick House, and was also on the trolley route! If you are the type of people who MAKE their own memories and do not rely on the property to do it for you, this is the place. If you are not pet people, do not worry. We stayed in a non-pet room and there was no evidence that it had every been used for pets of any kind.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wilgus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenham, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

The arrangement of the room, the A/C, the ability to accommodate our arrival by moving people around so we could stay in the same room and allowing our dog to be there was wonderful. We were a last minute reservation. The people work very hard to keep it clean and running smoothly. The pool was great. They knew local places for us to go with our dog. The only thing we still needed was restaurants that allowed dogs. They recommended 2 places, but one was closed by the time we got there. Our dog got ill and they information about vets in the area. I would go back!!!

Room Tip: Dogs need to be on the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sungerus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#17 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#13 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.4 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#6 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.7 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel

Property: Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel
Address: 605 Madison Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2504
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cape May
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Avenue Beach Club Hotel Cape May
Madison Avenue Beach Hotel
Madison Avenue Beach Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing