We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victorian Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victorian Motel
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Denville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very clean!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stated one night in October 2013 to attend a wedding across the street. We were able to check in early despite the paperwork stating that there were no early check ins. Motel is located across from the outdoor mall and one block from the ocean. Excellent location. The staff was friendly but we never used any "services" so we didn't rate that high. Overall it was a great stay but I would have liked a lower rate for being "off season".

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank restaurantreviewer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    149
    31
    7
    3
See reviews for
295
183
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keyport, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

I recently stayed at The Victorian Motel, a place I have stayed at throughout the years (30 or more) at various times. The two room effiency was excellent for the value as it met my primary needs of cleanliness, friendliness and space. This two day visit was during early October and the weather was beautiful plus the location of the Victorian allowed for easy access to the Mall as well as all pertinent locations w/o moving my car. The staff could not have been more accomodating and the only thing I would do upon my return would be to bring a fan for the bedroom as the a/c does not quite cool the second room.
If you stay during cooler weather, the beautiful breeze from the ocean one block away provides more than sufficient natural a/c.
To be honest, this is the best value for location in Cape May as you are near to everything.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor facing the ocean as you will capture the breeze as well as the beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finger Lakes
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We go to Cape May annually and stay at the Victorian Motel for a number of reasons. The rooms are comfortable & relaxing with the ocean breeze blowing through the windows. The hosts are accommodating and service oriented. The location is super with the Washington Street Mall across on street and the beach just a block away. The rates are reasonable. Over the last several years they have upgraded numerous things. We will continue to look forward to our visits there for years to come.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rici0322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Arlington, NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Typical Jersey shore accommodations, however we expected better of Cape May. The room amenities can best be described as "Spartan"...no coffee maker, tiny refrigerator, no microwave, no exhaust fan in bathroom. We even had to request additional bars of soap. The best feature of this hotel is the location.

Room Tip: Pay the extra dollars for the efficiency if you can afford it because the standard room has no ameni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
232 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Returned with my wife after 60 years to revisited the Coast Guard base. Decided to stay at the Victorian Motel due to its rating in trip advisor. It was over priced. Beds were lumpy. No coffee maker.

The door safety chain lock was literally anchored to the door frame with black string.

There were two or three chairs beside each entry door that may add a touch of community but between each chair was a large ash tray which I am sure would allow large amounts of smoke to bellow into a room when a door was open.

Sadly, it was disappointing and if I were to return to Cape May I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thed3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

The location was great but not the room. It had stains on the floor, the pillows were very hard and the beds were like sleeping on a board. We did have a small refrigerator but No Coffey pot! The bath room was so small the door banged against the toilet. All in all I would never go back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We just got back from 4 days/3 nights at the Victorian Motel in Cape May. Even though we had to change our reservations at the last minute (due to illness), the staff at the Victorian was so pleasant and helpful. We love going there as it is conveniently located to all the attractions (many within walking distance), has consistently friendly & accommodating staff, and clean rooms. We definitely will return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.0 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#15 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.7 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#10 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Motel

Property: Victorian Motel
Address: 223 Congress Pl, Cape May, NJ 08204-1412
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cape May
#2 Family Hotel in Cape May
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Victorian Hotel Cape May
Victorian Motel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing