We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value & location”
Review of Victorian Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victorian Motel
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great value & location”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the Victorian. We've stayed at various properties and rented places in Cape May but this was our first time here. As far as a motel goes you can't really do any better than this place.

Checkin was efficient and friendly. Rooms were super clean and housekeeping did an excellent job every day with the room. We had the two room efficiency and there was plenty of space for our four person family. We liked the firmer beds and slept well. The pool was a really nice surprise, it was very well maintained and the shuffleboard court right near the pool was a lot of fun.

And then there is the location, which just can't be beat. You are within minutes of the beach and the center of town. Perfect.

Overall, while we didn't expect or get anything fancy what we did receive was an excellent motel experience at a place with owners that obviously take a ton of pride in their establishment. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nytraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    157
    31
    7
    3
See reviews for
308
191
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BH
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

On the expensive side, but a very nice place to stay. Immaculately clean. Nice staff, very accommodating. Great location - overlooks Washington Street mall, one block from beach. Nice size room. Nice pool. Have also stayed at sister motel, the Camelot - both experiences were very pleasant. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I recently spent a wonderful week at The Victorian with my husband and two children, ages 12 & 18. Although the motel does not have an ocean view, the location is fabulous...just a short walk to the beach and steps away from shops and restaurants. The pool is pretty big with plenty of tables and chaise lounges around it. There is also a grill, a shuffleboard court, and a spacious sundeck. This is no frills motel but our bathroom was recently remodeled and there was a nice flat-screen t.v. in the living area. The rooms and pool were very, very clean. I usually will not walk barefoot in motel rooms but felt completely comfortable doing so here; housekeeping was very good. The beds were okay but I would recommend bringing your own pillow(s). There was not a hairdryer so bring that, too, if you need one. Overall, I think this is the best value in Cape May, especially for families or groups!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

This was our dirt time staying in a motel and we feel it was a bit overpriced. However, you are paying for the location and this is Cape May in the middle of August so take that for what is is. It was fantastic that it was a block from the beach, main shopping areas and great places to eat. The lighthouse is only 5-10 mom drive away as well.

We did find some stains in our sheets and ended up taking them off. The bed itself might as well be like sleeping on a floor. If you like soft beds look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have been staying at the Victorian Motel since the mid 80's.Location is great,park your car and you can walk to shops,restaurants,and the beach is a block away.The entire staff is very accommodating to what ever your needs are. Victorian is very clean and has a great pool. You can also grill if you want to. I do not think you would be disappointed booking the Victorian Motel.We are already booked for 2014.

Bert & Maureen

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 791golfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton NJ
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I take these reviews very seriously and always refer to Tripadvisor when looking to book a vacation. I can tell you that these reviews are on point. The rooms are immaculate, the location is superb. The price is very affordable. The parking is convenient. The pool is wonderful and maintained beautifully. I had my fiance and I stay, and he had to leave one day early, so I was left to spend an afternoon and evening alone until a friend came to stay the rest of the week. I never felt lonely. The other guests seem to come back year after year and have forged friendships which is really nice to see. It is wonderful for family with young children. The only caveat..is that if one wants a very quiet, atmosphere..this may not be what you're looking for. It is active..and that is great. The location is central..and in close proximity to all that Cape May has to offer. Will definitely recommend to family and other friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aries24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have been staying at The Victorian Motel for the past 8 years, and we are always happy with it. We get two rooms, one efficiency and one regular room. Every year they update some part of the room or overall motel. The staff is always so amenable and helpful. The location is perfect for all ages. My teen/preteens love it, my mom and even us parents can't get enough. You can literally park and not use your car again if you choose not to. The location is the best, and the pool is the perfect size and is always clean! We already booked for next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.9 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,152 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#7 of 37 in Cape May
691 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#17 of 37 in Cape May
677 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Motel

Property: Victorian Motel
Address: 223 Congress Pl, Cape May, NJ 08204-1412
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cape May
#2 Family Hotel in Cape May
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Victorian Hotel Cape May
Victorian Motel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing