We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 6:30 PM
  
Ways to Experience Cape May Whale Watcher
from $35.00
More Info
from $45.00
More Info
from $35.00
More Info
Reviews (640)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveler rating
174
53
18
16
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
174
53
18
16
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great trip hot dogs captain jeff boat ride saw dolphins dolphin tour free pizza dinner cruise hour trip dolphin watch hour dolphin crew members available for purchase marine life beautiful sunset gift shop well worth the trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 290 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We opted to do the sunset dolphin watch yesterday, and boy were we glad. All the crew members were super friendly, and there was plenty of room on the boat to move around from the front to the back and we got beautiful views of cape may and lighthouse, and the ride was just lovely. As we were heading into the ocean one of the crew members told me it was not normal that we didn't spot any dolphins yet (dolphins they say are almost always seen as opposed to whales), after twenty minutes reality settled in and we all resigned to our bad fate that there would be no dolphins to see on our ride. At the end of the ride someone started yelling that he saw dolphins, the captain stopped the boat and we were able to see a dolphin fin here and there popping out sporadically but nothing substantial. We spent there like fifteen minutes or so, then the captain said it's time to head back as its getting late.

We were a bit disappointed, although we really enjoyed the ride on the ocean, we were really hoping to see dolphins and my son was really psyched. Just then the captain announced that we will be getting a free pass for another ride with them, and though we technically saw the dolphins he didn't consider it a good experience. We were all exhilarated, and everyone on the boat was dancing. We did not expect that, and it was really special of them to give us another chance, I was really impressed. They really deserve the five stars. We will be coming back soon to utilize our free pass, and hopefully next time we will be able to get some nice views of the dolphins, or maybe even whales!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2019 via mobile

I took the 1pm whale watcher on 8/10 with my family. Boat seemed at capacity when we boarded with no where to sit. The young crew member on the dock pointed to the top and said there are seats up there. We started to climb the stairs where we were pointed to go ..when all of a sudden the captain shamed us and yelled at us in front of the full boat. Can’t you read! What’s wrong with you? This is restricted area and can’t you even read? Are you stupid? He went on and on loudly yelling at us in front of all the passengers. We were humiliated and embarrassed by the captain. It ruined the trip we paid 188.00 to enjoy. I’m hindsight there was a small restricted notice at the bottom step that we didn’t notice. Again we were going where we were directed. I didn’t need to be laughed at and ridiculed by the captain. He ruined our trip. He could have just said this is restricted.

Date of experience: August 2019
6  Thank juliehT3284PD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019

When visiting Cape May, this is a must do activity. A family owned business, Captain Jeff makes sure his passengers are well cared for and see lots of sea life.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank elizabeth8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2019

We took a 10 am dolphin watching cruise mid-week (complimentary coffee and danish!), and loved it. We took someone's advice to choose a day when storms were not anywhere on the radar, and so glad we did! The boat ride was not sickening for any of us. Also, it was not crowded like you see in the pictures, so there was plenty of room for us to walk around the boat and try watching from different areas. Note: if it's a sunny, hot day you will not want to be outside sitting on the top deck! Even the hot sun lovers in our family found shade or breezes at the front of the boat. Once you find a seat and the boat gets moving, pretty much everyone on the boat goes and finds another spot. We saw plenty of dolphins, up close and far away. The Captain shared interesting stories about the dolphins and Cape May areas we were viewing, and was very skilled at stopping and turning the boat so everyone could see the dolphins, no matter where you were sitting. We also saw lots of jellyfish, other fish, and even a stingray. This was one of the highlights of our trip. Book online, and use a coupon code from one of the area coupon books or an online coupon. Plan on showing up for boarding half hour before departure. There is an air conditioned room on board and restroom(s) for those who need. Bring your binoculars and a camera with a zoom lens! Or, just talk about your favorite sites with your kids all day to engrave those fun images in your minds!!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank TravelNad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2019 via mobile

This was a great trip. Family owned and operated, the staff is knowledgeable and friendly. Saw many dolphins as promised. You can get a good deal on Groupon.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank T2720SQsusanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2019

Saw many Dolphins, but no whales. Very informative captain. Great trip! Food/drinks available for purchase.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Zhukpavlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews