We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We saw whales”

Cape May Whale Watcher
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Whale and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Cape May Whale Watcher is one of the largest whale and dolphin watching tourist destinations in Cape May, NJ. Outside of our popular whale and dolphin watching tours, patrons may also choose to experience a lighthouse or sunset tour. Food is available purchase and patrons may purchase tickets for a dinner cruise which includes a delicious prime rib buffet.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Yes, we did see whales, but there were only 2 humpback whales and we had passed by dolphins to go see these whales, which they knew were out there because a fishing boat had contacted them to tell them where they were. We stayed there over an hour watching and following these 2 whales, which was nice, but got boring after a while. Most of the passengers sat down after about 45 minutes and stopped watching, as the whales just kept doing the same thing. You couldn't really see much of the whales, as they would blow, surface momentarily and go back under. Once in a while, you would see the tails flip up. The captain would yell, "tail shot" when that happened. I would have preferred to go back to see the dolphins for a while, as dolphins can be very entertaining and will leap out of the water more than whales will. The captain was very pleasant and would point out points of interest on the way. He also told us that his wife and him bought the marina and own the gift shop, which I visited and didn't really find anything I liked.

Thank veraandwalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 421 of 507 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

I should have realized the chances of seeing whales were pretty slim when their website makes no mention of a percentage of success of seeing whales. This percentage is pretty low. Otherwise they would tout their success rate. This is the same with most whale watching businesses on the East coast. They know they will see dolphins and be able to keep your money.
If they refunded 50% of your money when they do not see whales, they would be out of business. How about putting a calendar on the website with a checkmark on each day they see whales? But this would allow patrons to make an informed decision which would be bad for business.
The boat was fine. The crew was fine. And it was a beautiful day for an expensive boat ride.

3  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainCuda, Owner at Cape May Whale Watcher, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on the day of your trip. The chances of seeing whales on the East Coast is very good as the Gulf of Maine is a summer feeding grounds for Humpback and Fin whales and home to Minke, Right, and Pilot Whales. Our percentage of success is 68% of our whale and dolphin watching trips, just as I answered your email with when you booked your cruise. We see dolphins 98% of the time, which is not as you state "all the time."

As far as refunding your money you should read our guarantee of marine mammals which is printed on the back of your ticket, listed both on the policy page and the guarantee page of our three websites and printed on our brochure. Tickets are non-refundable and non-transferable. We guarantee marine mammals. Marine Mammals include whales or dolphins or porpoise. If we do not sight marine mammals during the trip, we issue a free pass for another marine mammal watching trip. The Free Pass never expires, so even if you will not be back in Cape May this year, the Free Pass is still good next year, or the year after. This has been our guarantee since 1993 and we have accepted free passes this year from as far back as 1993.

From the sound of your review, you did see dolphins and our guarantee was satisfied. As far as your idea for a calendar touting our success rate, as you had mentioned in your email, we are looking into what we have to do to make it happen. In the mean time, you can check out our facebook page where we try to update with reports, photos, and videos of whales, dolphins and birds as often as our busy schedule allows.

Thank you for the suggestions again and for telling everyone how fine the boat, the crew and the trip were. We strive to offer the best whale and dolphin watching experience in Cape May, NJ and we are happy to hear from our guests that we are doing a good job of it.

In response to not seeing whales on the day of your trip, everyday is different. Some days we see dolphins and we do not see whales. Some days we get to see whales and we do not see dolphins. Some days we get to see everything the ocean has to offer, dolphins, whales, sea turtles, rays, etc. Some days we do not get to see anything at all. It is the nature of wild animals in their natural environment. Being unpredictable is part of what makes this work rewarding. We would love to show you everything on every trip, however we do not control the Sea...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our trip was 8/26/2012. We purchased tickets via Groupon for this trip. Staff is friendly. No issues there. But I did find the boat to be fairly overcrowded. It is difficult to find a seat, especially with some folks using seats for their bottled water, sunglasses & bags,etc. One child on the boat got sick but that is to be expected. The ride was a little bumpy but that was due to weather. I did find, however, the captain to be very informative. We saw lots of dolphins but no whales. The FB page showed that they did see whales a few days later so you really can't predict that. My children enjoyed it but I did notice a lot of children sleeping because maybe it was too long of a ride.(3 h). There is a snack bar which sold pizza, alcoholic drinks. Binoculars can be rented for $5pp but bring your own to avoid that expense. I would do it agin but definitely not for full price..

5  Thank JamaicanQueen39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed the shorter two-hour dolphin watch on a gorgeous morning. We saw several feeding pods of dolphins. The tour guide was a well-informed naturalist who pointed out many things about the habitat and geography of the shoreline. For me, a highlight was that we circumvented the entire Cape May on this trip.

Thank bruceliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainCuda, Owner at Cape May Whale Watcher, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you very much for the review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your two hour dolphin watch. We like to include as much in our shorter trips as we can and we are happy to see you pointed out that our tour guide is very knowledgeable about all things Cape May, including the shoreline and geography along with being a naturalist. We look forward to having you back aboard in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Wanted to thank the crew and captain of this vessel, the trip was realy crowded, we were on the lighthouse cruise, even though crowded thewre was more than enough time to take pics of all lighthouses, enough food for breakfat and lunch, it was very good food too!! the fried chicken was to die for!!! very informative, we did not get to see everything , the weather was not cooperating, a little bummed about thjat, but the captain had our tickets stamped with a free whale watching tour, anytime we wanted, not just ours , everyones on the boat, the mates in the galley were on top of things, putting food out and keeping things moving along, also i found the bathrooms to be very adequate, clean, plenty of towels and soap for hands. thanks again it was a enjoyable day!!!!

Thank mopman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainCuda, Manager at Cape May Whale Watcher, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

We are happy to hear you enjoyed our lighthouse tour. This is our signature excursion which we have been doing for the past 18 years with the Mid-Atlantic Center for the Arts and Humanities. It is nice to read that even though it was a 100 mile journey which was cut short by rough weather that you still had a good time. We strive to make the best out of all situations which includes at times rough conditions. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the boat, the crew and the food. We look forward to having you back aboard in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape May Whale Watcher also viewed

 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Cape May Whale Watcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing