We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dolphins guaranteed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spirit of Cape May

Spirit of Cape May
Ranked #20 of 59 things to do in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Spirit of Cape May! Cape May, New Jersey's Flagship of Entertainment. We offer three trips daily. 2PM Holly Beach/ Cape Island Sightseeing Cruise. 7PM First Rate Dinner Cruise (Food By Lucky Bones) 10 PM 5 nights a week. Cocktail Cruise "Spirits aboard Spirit" with Music and Live Performances, Call Ahead. Special Combo Deal, Book the Dinner Cruise, and stay for the cocktail cruise, free.
Beautiful Jersey shore
Level Contributor
142 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Dolphins guaranteed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Visited 9/28/13 for the sunset 2-hour cruise. Enjoyed the trip through the Cape May Canal, around the tip of the cape through "the rips" and back up to the Cape May inlet. Narrative was very well rehearsed and informative. Crew served pizza and hot dogs throughout the trip, and beer/wine was also available (cash bar). The boat was clean, seats comfortable, we did see around 25 dolphins which was fun. However, I'd suggest something other than the sunset trip if your main interest is the dolphins, as they can be hard to see silhouetted against the sunset. In all we had a great time and would do it again in a heartbeat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NJBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    26
    2
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sellersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We've got a ticket to ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife and I took a ride on the the Cape May Whale Watcher, Spirit of Cape and had a very enjoyable time. The weather was awesome, the trip around Cape May by water was informative, the food was plentiful, the sights were beautiful. A few degrees warmer and it could have been Florida rather than New Jersey - It was that scenic. We didn't see any dolphins, but since there are guaranteed sightings we got a free pass for another ride any time any year.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place For a Party --- or ANYTIME :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I rented a limo for my 50th birthday last year with all my girlfriends and a few cases of champagne. We had lunch at The Lobster House (my favorite restaurant) and then went over to Wilson Drive to hop on the Spirit of Cape May for the Sunset Cruise. The weather wasn't good so we understandable had to turn back. The weather is something you just can't plan for in advance, but we all had a great time and were THRILLED when we were all given a ticket to use at another time in the future because we didn't get to see whales or dolphins. They GUARANTEE that you'll see them or you get a ticket for another day - how great is that?

I had been there once before my birthday trip and several times after, but this week, I checked the weather and found that Wednesday September 4th was to be a GORGEOUS SUNNY DAY with no humidity and off we were to Cape May. We got on the 1:00 cruise and relaxed on the boat. The sun was shining on the water in such a way that the sea sparkled. The dolphins were out and very playful and so was a big hump back whale.

I sat on the top deck and listened to the music on my iphone and just relaxed and ENJOYED this perfect summer day.

There are snacks onboard, I believe the pizza and hot dogs are included so if you are having a kids party they offer treats for the kids and the Captain is informative so they will get to learn a little something about the sea life too and then they can come home and report that they had THE BEST TIME EVER. So.....for KIDS PARTIES - ADULT PARTIES - SUNSET OR DINNER CRUISES with your PERSON - FISHING TRIPS or the ALL DAY CRUISE (once a month)...YOU WILL be in for A REAL TREAT....FUN FOR EVERYONE :)

Not to be missed..!!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dolphins!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

You can always see the dolphins from the beach, but this is a nice relaxing way to see them up close. We've done the two hour sunset cruise on a couple of occasions. The captain and crew are always great and they give a nice narration about the dolphins and the local history. You are always close to the shore and it's a great way to see Cape May from a different view point! The picture of the Cape May light house at Sunset is worth the trip!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ddrred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Private Party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked the Spirit of Cape May for our wedding guests after our rehearsal dinner- IT WAS THE BEST. Everyone had a great time- we did a sunset-cocktail cruise around the island with light food. The staff was so much fun and professional. They really made our occasion special!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lgp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spirit of Cape May also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Spirit of Cape May? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing