We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Excursion”

Cape May Lighthouse
Ranked #3 of 59 things to do in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 1859 Cape May Lighthouse, fully restored. Climb 199 steps to the top for a breathtaking view of the Atlantic Ocean and Delaware Bay. Open daily. Evening trolley tours. Museum shop.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Sykesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
349 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Excellent Excursion”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is an excellent excursion while visiting Cape May. We visited in November when it is less crowded. The lighthouse is only open on weekend in the off season. The nature center, hiking trails, and bird observation decks on the property are also worth exploring.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank FF13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    965
    466
    104
    16
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galloway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
157 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great lighthouse climb with nice *free* beach”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Cape May lighthouse is very nice, and for a moderate charge (I think $7) you can climb to the top and see the views. As one of 3 functioning light houses in NJ, there is a knowledgeable tour guide up to who can discuss the features of the lighthouse. The view is great, and always breezy!

There is a small museum with ocean critters and such.

This is one of the free beach spots in Cape May, but you can only wade into the water a bit. No swimming. You can see a WWII blockhouse to watch for the invasion that didn't come. You can often see dolphins from the beach.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TPAnRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood PA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fun and interesting with lovely views”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

I have never gone inside a light house before and was curious to climb the steps to the top. It's a hike, but nothing too difficult. The view was terrific. I admit I would have rather used a camera to take pics than my phone. Up there so high, I was nervous about dropping my smart phone. The area has a visitor center, small gift shop and rest rooms. You can also walk along the beach. Its a fun thing to do if you've never walked up a lighthouse.

Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were lucky enough to be there for a full moon night climb. We had gone during the day, out to the beach and birdwatching. Then we went back that night and it was very organized and handled well. And that moon from the top was breathtaking! Such an unexpected delight!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west hempstead
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good place to walk off breakfast”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The area is low key and very relaxing. The beach is close and not far from the parking. You must take the time about 10 min. to walk up to the top of the lighthouse. This is $7.00 dollars and well worth it. The view at the top puts everything into perspective and you must spend some time up there. We saw dolphins from the top and the museum staff was very informative. Next time I would look to do this at sunset.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 06jobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape May Lighthouse also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Cape May Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing