We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funcky and Low Tech”

Cape May Lighthouse
Ranked #3 of 59 things to do in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 1859 Cape May Lighthouse, fully restored. Climb 199 steps to the top for a breathtaking view of the Atlantic Ocean and Delaware Bay. Open daily. Evening trolley tours. Museum shop.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Funcky and Low Tech”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

The Cape May Lighthouse is the real deal. It's worth riding your bike or driving from towns along the South Jersey Shore. Not good for those who can't easily climb several stories of stairs, it is great for the young and young-at-heart. Beautiful view from the top.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank wiley510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    914
    453
    101
    16
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice scenic venue, good place for a picnic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

This is worth a trip to see it in any case, but you can't really appreciate it unless you climb to the top and have a look around from that height - and the "I climbed the Cape May Lighthouse" buttons in the gift shop are a nice touch, too. :-) The area around the lighthouse is a great area for a picnic, and a stroll down to the beach can make for a pleasant afternoon. Recommended!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulB38661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes Barre, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WOW! Magnificent View!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

We took our 6 children up the 199 steps to the top of the Cape May Lighthouse. The view was incredible!!! The older gentleman that works at the top of the Lighthouse should be commended for his knowledge and kindness to our family! We can't wait to go up again!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank TeeWilkesBarre_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not sure what's so great about the lighthouse”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

We went expecting to be able to see lots of the beach and ocean. However, the lighthouse overlooks some parking lots, houses and farther off into the distance is the ocean and bird watching station.

As for World War Two history, I guess I have been to Europe too many times to find this enchanting and been to too many other lighthouses right on the coast (e.g. Peggy's Cove).

I'm going to leave my review of the surrounding area out of the lighthouse review because that content really has nothing to do with the lighthouse.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank human3500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Beaches and Bird Watching”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

There were many birds to watch in the natural habitat.
I enjoyed the walking trails along the salt ponds.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Noreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape May Lighthouse also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Cape May Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing