We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Aquarium”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Adventure Aquarium

Adventure Aquarium
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Adventure Aquarium is just minutes from downtown Philadelphia on the Camden Waterfront and features one-of-a-kind exhibits with more than 8,500 aquatic species throughout two million gallons of water. The Aquarium is home to the largest collection of sharks on the East Coast, including the only Great Hammerhead shark on exhibit in the United States, the only aquarium in the world to exhibit hippos, one of only six facilities in the US to have Little Blue penguins as permanent residents and exhibits the longest Shark Bridge in the world, a unique V-shaped rope suspension bridge just inches over Shark Realm. Adventure Aquarium is an accredited member of the Association of Zoos and Aquariums (AZA), and is held to the absolute highest standards in animal care and exhibition.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Stroller parking
philadelphia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Aquarium”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Took my nice to see Mighty Mike - there was quite a wait, and when we did reach the alligator we were told to hurry through. I understand due to the lines, however when you pay 25.00 to see an attraction, more than 30 seconds would be nice.
The shark tank was fun, the kids were told they were allowed to pet them as they swam by. It was nice and we had a good time.
My biggest complaint is the over charging of basics such as water - cost 2.50 a bottle. Prices were very high for the snacks as well.
Definately bring your own drinks and snacks. Oh, and don't forget to be prepared to pay 15.00 to park across the street. They get you coming and going. It is absurd that they charge you that in Camden, I can park in Philadelphia at the Franklin Institute for that.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sandrajeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    463
    154
    50
    28
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
178 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Fun Experience With Kids”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We took two children, 2 and 9 years old and both enjoyed it very much. There was enough to see and do to keep everyone interested, including the adults. Very interactive! It is a little pricey, so if you live in the area, look into the yearly pass. Very much worth it-we even get half off of the $10 parking fee! Plan to arrive when it opens and leave for lunch (chaotic, generic cafeteria to be avoided!) or arrive late on days they are open later to avoid the crowds. Some viewing areas can get very congested with large groups of schools/camps, etc. Adults only or visitors with older kids should take advantage of the demonstrations and talks given by the staff and don't hesitate to ask questions; the staff are pleasant and helpful and seem eager to share their knowledge. If you don't have an annual pass, buy tickets online to avoid a LOOOONG line at the ticket booth.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NJDels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanoka Harbor
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A First Class Aquarium”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I had not been to the Camden Aquarium in years. We took our French exchange student here as something to do on a summer day. My husband and I are each 31 and our student was 17. We had a great time! The aquarium is extremely interactive and my hand was in water more often than not, it seemed. The hippos were amazing! We had an up-close encounter with them at feeding time. Definitely go at feeding time for all the animals you can. A few reviewers claim that this place is just for kids, but we didn't find that at all. There were a lot of camp groups, but go either very early or after lunch to avoid them. You really only need about four hours there. They're open from 10 to 5, so this allows you flexibility. We had gotten there at 10, but were done by 2:30 and we had eaten lunch. The cafe offers a lot of choices, but the prices are high. The admission price was about $25, but we found a coupon online that brought the price down $5 a person. At the time, they were doing their Shark Week promotion, so the coupon code was SHARK. I'm not sure how long that's good for though. We did not do the 3D movie, as I can't stand Spongebob and he was the star. Bring your camera and prepare to be awed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephani A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice aquarium but not spectacular. The crowds were overwhelming, the displays were OK but it seemed a little disjointed, without a story or theme. Lots of good animals but no through story. Buy tickets online. Go early. Skip Sponge Bob and do the sharks early, before there are such large crowds you can't see them.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you're not taking kids, don't bother.”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I'll preface by saying that i don't have kids. I've been to many aquariums and i've always enjoyed going to one, until yesterday. The place is built as a kiddie ride. In fact there aren't that many actual fish on display, as most of space is taken up by kids "stuff". Touch this, pet that displays fill most of the place.
I have a very different idea of what an aquarium should be. To me it's a museum which displays live fish. Yes i get that kids like to look at the fishies, but does the entire place need to be turned into a kiddie ride?

By far the worse aquarium i've been, and i've been to many. Again, unless you are looking to entertain your kids for an afternoon, don't waste your time. I only regret that by the time i left, it was too late to go to the USS New Jersey which is a few steps away from this place

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank carlos d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventure Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Adventure Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing