We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Califon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Raritan Inn at Middle Valley
Ranked #1 of 1 Califon B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 20, 2008

My husband and I received a gift certicate to the NJ B&B Associations Inns. Originally we had planned to use the night to go to the beach, but I'm glad that didn't work out because I was very pleasantly surprised with the Raritan Inn. We stayed in the largest room, The Warren and it was gorgeous and beautifully decorated. The bed was super comfortable, and the sheets were top of the line.

No detail was overlooked and I wish we could have stayed longer!

We brought our bikes with us & Margy the innkeeper(who was extremely pleasant & helpful) pointed us in the direction of a great bike path near the inn that took you through the nearby towns, by the water...It was a nice and relaxing ride.

For dinner we headed into town to the brewery, I can't remember the name...but I loved the atmosphere & the food was great.

Breakfast the next morning was delicious! Margy is quite the cook!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Munchkin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 74 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights when our friends got married at the Raritan Inn and the place is fantastic. Our room was was probably one of the smallest they had (Somerset), but it was still plenty big and the bathroom was super nice (recently updated) with a big shower stall. Margy the innkeeper is really friendly and makes you feel really welcomed and the breakfast was delicious. Would definitely recommend this Inn for anyone that wants to get away from congested NJ (or anywhere else for that matter) and travel out to the jersey countryside for some relaxation.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank njtraveler3220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

We knew from the minute we first set eyes on The Raritan Inn that it was the perfect place for our wedding. Then we met Margy, got the historical tour of the Inn and any doubts that we might have had were immediately eliminated. The barn and the grounds are simply stated, beautiful. We held the ceremony out back by the stream, the side lawn for the cocktail hour and the barn and an additional tent for the reception. The entire property welcomed our event and made for the ideal setting for our special day.

One of the many things that make The Raritan such a great place for a wedding is the ability to take over the entire Inn for the weekend. I highly recommend having your wedding party or your closest friends stay the weekend at the Inn with you. It makes for a fantastic wedding weekend and the opportunity to enjoy the serenity of your surroundings.

Margy is a wonderful innkeeper. She doesn’t miss a detail; from the freshly baked cookies on the counter, to the quarters on the windowsill for the Juke Box. Every three-course breakfast is creative, delicious and served with a smile. She was always helpful when planning the wedding and always had suggestions when needed. The best part is that you always feel she cares about you, your event and making you and your guests feel right at home.

We look forward to spending a leisurely weekend at the Inn again sometime soon and we highly recommend it for any event.

Thanks Margy!

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobTheBroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

My husband and I went to the Raritan Inn as a gift from my boss for my work anniversary. We were delighted that the drive out to Califon was easy and scenic. We found this lovely restored Victorian house to be welcoming and warm. The Innkeeper, Margy, was equally welcoming and has amazing talents as tour guide, history docent and cook. Her homemade cookies were still warm when we arrived! Margy will also cook up a country breakfast you won't soon forget; ours was delicious and plentiful. The 5 bedrooms at this bed-and-breakfast are just lovely, with the 'Warren' being the larger of the rooms. All are beautiful. The details and furnishings are wonderful. The rooms are very comfortable and cozy, and all that geo-thermal
green air-conditioning stuff seems to work just fine. Out back of the Inn is the barn, which is used for larger parties, lots of land, and the river. We loved that the Long Valley Brew Pub was just down the road for a great dinner and that there were pick-your-own farms in the immediate area. You will be amazed when reading the renovation articles that are available at the Inn library, and even more shocked by the 'before' and 'after' photos. This is definitely a place we will visit again. Very beautiful and very relaxing. What a great country escape!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelingJerseyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

We chose The Raritan Inn for our wedding because it's only a little more than one hour from New York City; it's a beautiful, clean, historic bed and breakfast managed by a caring, great-cooking Innkeeper named Margy; it's surrounded by beautiful fields and streams, and it's more affordable to book the entire inn, barn and grounds that it is to just rent a space in most of New York City.

The inn and barn have a history dating back hundreds of years. The entire property has been renovated and updated, and in a very "green" fashion. Much of the electricity is generated with solar panels! It's the best of both worlds -- history and new, unobtrusive, green technology.

Margy the innkeeper is a great host, she'll do what she can to make your stay comfortable, according to you and your needs. She's also a great cook. Her breakfasts are delicious.

We were married in the field behind the barn, under some trees and next to a small stream. It was beautiful and romantic. Everyone at the wedding loved it, and they're still talking about it months later.

Booking the entire inn for your wedding is a great deal. You'll have the place to yourself and your family, and you can relax together at your own "home away from home." All this for less than it costs to set foot in most places in New York City.

The place seems like a bit of a secret at the moment, and we suspect that its wedding business will really take off once word gets out. We could go on and on about this place. We highly recommend The Raritan Inn!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NYCnewlywed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

my brother just held his wedding at the raritan inn - and wow - i was amazed this place. it is so peaceful, has beautiful surroundings. not only was it the perfect place to hold a wedding, but it was an awesome getaway for my family.

the innkeeper is extremely accommodating & sweet, and is always there if you are in need of anything - we went out to dinner and when arriving back to the raritan, she had fresh fruit, tea, and coffee waiting for us. in the morning, i awoke to the smell of freshly-made banana-pecan pancakes and muffins. the kitchen is beautiful, complete with granite counter tops and two spacious dining rooms.

the rooms were extremely clean, and each had its own unique decor. each room has its own newly updated bathroom with relaxing showers that include body sprays. the pillows in my bed were to die for - i had to check the tag to see where they were from!!

downstairs in the basement is the original foundation, and it was incredible to see a piece of history. there is no doubt that i will travel back to the raritan inn again - it has given my family and i some unforgetable memories!! highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank katielp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2008

my husband and I stayed for a night hiding from the rest of the world. this is not exactly cheap - one night went for over $200, but the place is wonderful, the area is magnificent and the nature around is quietly stunning. we were the only guests for the night and enjoyed the house for ourselves - the innkeeper lives in a house directly across the yard. the rooms are very nicely kept, with enough country style but not too much - the bathrooms are all updated and everything is squeaky clean. the innkeeper left us a bottle of wine and cookies to enjoy when we returned from dinner, and we did so playing pool in the nice game room downstairs. the place is a great mixture of tradition and technology, with free wi-fi and full body showers, and the innkeeper will tell you all about the great renovation the building went through, with all new and eco-friendly updates that make this a wonderful "green holiday". and the breakfast!!! ohh, gosh, it was soooo delicious!
we definitely recommend to splurge on this place if you have a chance!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MadMarcConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Raritan Inn at Middle Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raritan Inn at Middle Valley

Address: 528 County Road 513, Califon, NJ 07830-4020
Location: United States > New Jersey > Califon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Califon
Price Range: $139 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4000-square-foot Victorian with a rich history located on 24 beautiful acres, nestled along the South Branch of the Raritan River. Five guest rooms, each with private bath and spa shower, satellite TV, wireless internet and four rooms have a parlor stove. Environmentally friendly and 100% energy self-sufficient. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Raritan Inn At Middle Valley Hotel Califon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing