We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Place in Hunterdon County”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Califon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Raritan Inn at Middle Valley
Ranked #1 of 1 Califon B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Recently, we stayed at the Raritan Inn in Califon, NJ-what a special place! We had high praise for John, the Inn keeper. He was the perfect host. Our room was of the highest quality. It was very charming and it had all that you would want from a B&B. Our breakfast was excellent(John even brought us a pot of coffee as we sat outside admiring the beauitul grounds-that is real CLASS!) We enjoyed every apsect of staying at a B&B-wonderful service, great accommondations, beautiful grounds and the opportunity to meet some very interesting people. I would highly recommend the Raritan Inn whenever you are near Califon, NJ.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Morris room-very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Thank you so much for all the wonderful compliments. I hope you had a wonderful anniversary. I really enjoyed getting to know you and Helen. I am so glad you got a chance to take a walk and enjoy our beautiful grounds. We recently spotted a bald eagle and a Baltimore oriole! The next time you visit you must do a picnic lunch in the meadow along the mill race. Until next time have a great summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 74 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2012

My family recently traveled to New Jersey for a funeral, and our previous experience with the only hotel within 10 miles was beyond awful. Terrifying, even. So, this time we were cautiously optimistic about the Raritan Inn, which wasn't open last time we were there.

We arrived late to a wonderfully rustic, restored house, all rooms are highly upgraded, the kitchen is top-notch, bathrooms are gorgeous. It has a cozy unique feel, and it felt warm and friendly inside. The innkeeper is a wonderful man named Jon, who joined us for a drink when we arrived. Wonderful conversation over a glass of wine, and we felt as at home as you can when you're in another state for a funeral.

The rooms were spotless, and each had their own charm. It's eco friendly, and on a gorgeous property, complete with a river and barn that apparently has been host to many weddings and events.

The absolute highlight was getting to meet the chickens that are on the property. Jon takes such great care of them and the property, he is the true heart and soul of the Inn. He absolutely made our stay wonderful. Oh, and his omelette was amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

This is the place to stay when ur near Califon, NJ. Had a lovely time there. Great food, spacious rooms, clean and immaculate. The grounds are an added treat.
John the innkeeper is a special man, great at his job. He's a warm and friendly individual.
We meet the owner, Bill. Thanks to men like him, we had a great historic place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Countryjew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Booked a Sunday night in the Warren Room ("the honeymoon suite") based on the great reviews here. The owner, Bill, was on hand when we arrived and gave us a personal tour of the house even though they were in the middle of a wedding information open house. His enthusiasm for the place was evident and his knowledge of the area and the history is extensive and interesting.

John, the innkeeper, is a treasure. Always smiling, and genuinely happy to meet us and make our stay great, he also makes a mean spinach omelet.

We were in the Warren Room this time, but after looking at the rest of the rooms, I might go with the Hunterdon room next time - it faces the back of the property instead of the front and gets morning sunlight, which I generally prefer. But ALL the rooms were absolutely gorgeous (since we were the only guests that night, we got to check them all out!).

If we can, we will certainly stay here again. Might be great to snowshoe on their large field in the wintertime!

Room Tip: Warren is giant and has a wonderful spa tub. A bit of a tight squeeze for 2 but you can do it. Fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebraCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Raritan Inn while in NJ for a number of family celebrations. It is a very interesting historic home that has been beautifully remodeled and brought up to date. Our room was beautifully decorated, extremely comfortable and immaculate. I understand they even iron the sheets!! John, the Innkeeper, was friendly, very knowledgeable about the history of the house and the area, and cooked us a delicious breakfast. We can't wait to return for a longer stay!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KayS606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We could not have been happier with the Raritan Inn as the venue for our September 2011 wedding! The barn and surrounding grounds are absolutely perfect for an intimate, laid-back wedding. The premises are a blank slate that you can transform to match any wedding style.

Bill and Marcia were amazing throughout the entire planning process. You never would have believed that Hurricane Irene dumped more than 5 ft of water on the Inn less than 2 weeks before our wedding! Bill and Marcia worked day and night to restore the grounds and our wedding went off without a hitch. They are truly dedicated to their Inn and their clients. Thank you so much for all of your effort!

We would recommend the Raritan Inn to anyone! We can't wait to go back and visit!
Melissa & Gregg

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaritanInnkeeper, Owner at The Raritan Inn at Middle Valley, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Melissa and Gregg,
Your comments brought back such wonderful memories! Your wedding weekend was beautiful and you both were a joy to work with and serve. Please come back and visit - I think we can promise no historic 1000-year flooding!

Much happiness to the newlyweds,
Marcia and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I stayed at the Raritan Inn while on a business related trip and I was treated like family. It was an exeptional experience. From the picturesque setting, to the history of the property, to the amazing breakfast and the knowledgeable innkeeper, John - my stay was perfect.
I plan to return for a relaxing weekend with my wife in the very near future.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Raritan Inn at Middle Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raritan Inn at Middle Valley

Address: 528 County Road 513, Califon, NJ 07830-4020
Location: United States > New Jersey > Califon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Califon
Price Range: $139 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4000-square-foot Victorian with a rich history located on 24 beautiful acres, nestled along the South Branch of the Raritan River. Five guest rooms, each with private bath and spa shower, satellite TV, wireless internet and four rooms have a parlor stove. Environmentally friendly and 100% energy self-sufficient. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Raritan Inn At Middle Valley Hotel Califon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing