We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go somewhere else. Poor quality. Overpriced... NO BLUE CRAB”

Blue Claw Crab Eatery
Ranked #7 of 78 Restaurants in Burlington
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed January 13, 2018

BLUE CLAW CRAB RESTAURANT HAD NO BLUE CRAB after we traveled almost an hour--could have mentioned that when we made our reservation.

6 for dinner. (reservations were suggested via website; we were only ones in the place...should have been a clue)
Server was polite, friendly and attentive. facility was worn but clean
Snow crab legs -- fair, somewhat soft, could not snap legs and had to dig the meat out, probably boiled not steamed and then reheated.
Peel&eat shrimp -- overdone and chewy.
Garlic shrimp -- over cooked and chewy. had cold "from-the-jar garlic" dumped on top..not tossed or cooked with the garlic--not hot when served, tasteless even with the garlic
Combo plate--shrimp over cooked, crab cake was all breading and inedible--one bite and no more--tasteless and clumpy like from the box leftover turkey stuffing.

I am betting everything was RE_HEATED, at least once, before serving and not freshly prepared

Once & DONE!! Do yourself a favor.....$180 with NO alcohol

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank thegolfmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maincrabman, Owner at Blue Claw Crab Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

Thank you for your review. As the owner of Blue Claw Seafood it can be difficult to hear critical feedback, But in my defense - Its freezing all over the country and some days there are no crabs to be had - and if you would have asked we would have told you - other then that it seems you had a bone to pick with us because lack of Blues . If our food was as bad as you say, I do not think we would be here for 46 years!Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 119 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2017 via mobile

I've visited Blue Claw many times in the last 8 years! And I've never been disappointed. They offer
a huge variety of items and their sides are awesome as well. The only drawback is that it is a bit small. They expanded it a couple of years ago, but it is still small, so if you visit during "date night" times....plan on waiting a bit. I wish I lived closer because I would dine here weekly if I could!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank LeavingOnAJettPlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile

Very small restaurant... The prices were decent but the service is horrible. The waiters were very rude.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Tremayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017

As a local I will tell you, this is the best place for crabs. The platters are mediocre but the crabs are what you go here for. Expensive, why yes, but aren't they everywhere? Garlic plus Old Bay is how we eat them. They have crabs year round. When the Mexican crabs are available, get them and I promise you will not be disappointed. We normally get either the $8.50 or $9 crabs and spend about $80. I also like the corn nuggets and we normally get take out so we can relax and eat the crabs at our leisure.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank prettybrowneyes83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2017 via mobile

Being a business owner myself and having to abide certain rules and standards, having your small child "be a helper" is not only unprofessional, but also unsafe in a kitchen/restaurant setting. She kept offering to refill our drinks which was kind but probably illegal. There are certain days in the calendar year that are labeled bring your child to work day and to my knowledge that was not this day. Anyway the food was great and you would have gotten 5 stars minus the 5 year old in the dining room waiting on me.

Date of visit: September 2017
3  Thank vmarino1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maincrabman, Owner at Blue Claw Crab Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2017

Hi vmarino1964Sorry about the child - first I heard of it - it was a servers daughter and it will not happen again. I'm glad you enjoyed the food and hope to see U next time your in.Norman/ owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Claw Crab Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Blue Claw Crab Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing