We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Racism Exists”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Philadelphia,PA-Brooklawn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brooklawn
Camden, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Racism Exists”
Reviewed June 24, 2010

I arrived at the hotel to check in and there was a very nice young lady there to take care of us. That wasn't the issue. The issue was the room, when I turned on the light to the bathroom it started flickering on and off for a couple of seconds and then it finally started working. Also, when we went to the pool the pool was dirty with many leaves on the surface, it just wasn't safe. I didn't sleep a bit, I felt like at any minute the manager would bust in our room, since he is so racist. The next day that we went to the pool it was still dirty and the manager asked my boyfriend if he really had a room.? There were other guests but he didn't ask any of them being that they were caucasian. My boyfriend is African American and that is why he asked if he had a room. I was so appalled after this I just had to leave!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JDiva_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    17
    30
    87
See reviews for
58
29
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri City, Missouri
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

What once was a good hotel has turned into a dump. Apparently the ownership has turned over to a less caring owner. We were told that 2 years ago the ownership had changed.

First they give us a 3rd floor room when the elevator isnt working. Then we cant get into the room after 2 times going back to the office they give us a first floor room. The person working was never behind the counter but setting down in the breakfast area.
If you wanted to roll your luggage up the ramp/wheel chair entrance you had to go through about a foot of mud and water.

The room was sick. Floor turned socks dark black within 30 minutes. The bathroom was so gross we really wished we hadnt done the prepaid booking so we could have cancelled our 2nd night. The bathroom fan was hanging from the ceiling,mold on the walls,mold on the tub,weird stuff in the corners below the tub,wallpaper peeling off the wall in several spots,crusty stuff on bed spread,sprinkler in bathroom had corrosion and rust,all the metal in bathroom rusted,light in bathroom crooked,tv reception was fussy,shower head was sick , table in room was about to fall apart,counter in bathroom falling down,hair dryer was gross,fire alarm out side was a birdnest,plugs behind tv stand was a fire hazard,all kinds of dirt and particles behind dresser & bed table. Didnt eat the breakfast but saw it and looked like the donuts were from previous day. Didnt go to the pool since I believe if you cant clean rooms properly how could you maintain a pools water treatment requirements.

We had stayed at this location in 02,03,04 & 07 and it was always excellent. So do not stay here unless you want to pay for a overpriced gross room.

Never again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I recommend going to the Days Inn in Cherry Hill,NJ or Pleasantville,NJ.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HighwayTraveler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

This Days Inn has large roomy rooms and bathrooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful. This facility has a laundry room and a small business center. This motel has three floors and does have an elevator.

The free high speed Wi-Fi was slow and we kept loosing the connection. There was a refrigerator and microwave in the room with in-room coffee maker. Also, coffee is available in the lobby most of the day.

The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The carpets were only so-so clean.

The Daybreak breakfast was one of the best we have had in a long time. They had make your own waffles, bagels, French toast, bread for toast, doughnuts, mini-muffins, cereal, milk, and strawberry topping for the waffles and French toast. They also have oatmeal, coffee, tea and cocoa.

What more could one ask for on this high carb breakfast.

Our rating is 4.5 stars.

We would stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magician-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2009

We've stayed here before and it's everything we need - good location, free breakfast, clean rooms, pet friendly. It is a stone's throw away from Philly. You do have to pay a $4 toll to get across the bridge but you're downtown in minutes. and for $60/night it's a great deal.

There are a few shady places around but we've stayed there a couple times and never had any trouble. It's always been clean and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tweety21ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2009

My daughter had a class field trip to Philadelphia. We stayed here and it was awful. The rooms are in very poor condition. The carpets were very dirty and it didn't look like the room had been cleaned very well. You could see the dust on areas and it did not look like the vacuum had been run in awhile. The bathroom was very old and had several mildew stains. We had other individuals in our group mention that their toilets had been clogged and ran over to the point that the carpet was saturated. Everyone in our group complained about their rooms and the shape they were in. We also had to go downstairs everyday to request additional towels/washcloths. They knew that their were 4 people staying per room, but yet they only put 3 towels and 2 washcloths in each room. The only good thing about this hotel was the continental breakfast. Other than that, I would not stay here.

Stayed May 2009
Helpful?
2 Thank Magidos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2009

Outside of hotel looked cheap, but our room was fine. One of the better Days Inn rooms we have stayed in. Seemed like a safe location. Try to get a room in the back. Rooms out front face the highway. Free breakfast was very good - fresh & nice assortment of cereals, bagels, muffins & donuts, also waffles available w/ fruit topping. About 15 minutes and bridge-cross away from Philadelphia. Only a few restaurants nearby. Across street from grocery store.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karinr9933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2008

If clean hotels are your thing, avoid this Days Inn. The carpet looked grubby, the lighting was kind of weak, the bathroom had mold in the corners, and the sheets were scratchy.

That said, the rooms were large and the area felt safe, even though there was a disturbing bullet proof glass panel in the lobby where you check in.

For one night, it'll do the job, but I can't imagine staying for longer.

  • Liked — Large rooms
  • Disliked — Dirty!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank peachyfuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brooklawn
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Stadium
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Stadium
#59 of 86 in Philadelphia
752 reviews
3.3 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard
5.1 mi away
Best Western Philadelphia South - West Deptford Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Runnemede - Philadelphia
4.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Philadelphia - Cherry Hill
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cherry Hill
Holiday Inn Cherry Hill
#1 of 8 in Cherry Hill
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Philadelphia,PA-Brooklawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Philadelphia,PA-Brooklawn

Property: Motel 6 Philadelphia,PA-Brooklawn
Address: 801 Route 130 South (at Browning Road), Brooklawn, NJ 08030 (Formerly Days Inn Philadelphia Brooklawn)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Brooklawn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brooklawn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Philadelphia,PA-Brooklawn 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Motel 6 is located 5.8 miles from Philadelphia, with great shopping within a mile. The African American Heritage Museum and Philadelphia Zoo is 7.8 miles. Features include selected rooms with micro-fridge units and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Motel-6, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Philadelphia,PA-Brooklawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Philadelphia Brooklawn Hotel Brooklawn
Days Inn Brooklawn
Brooklawn Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing