We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always great Italian meal”
Review of L'aragosta Restaurant - CLOSED

L'aragosta Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always great Italian meal”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

L'aragosta is a family run byob, with a good atmosphere and great food. Prices aren't bad for the beach, and we've never had a bad meal there. Can get busy, so recommend going at an off time, if you plan to go over the weekend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    13
    8
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aruba
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food but poor service”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have a home in Brigantine and enjoy the food of this restaurant but no matter when we visit this restaurant you wait hours for your food. We now only take out from here. We ordered over the weekend and went to pick up our food an hour after we ordered then we waiting at the restaurant for over an hour. The staff kept telling us it's coming, it's coming but it wasn't. The food is excellent but you have to wait.

Another time when we went and ate in, we complained that our food was taking so long and other tables who sat down after us had gotten their food, the manager told us, "honey if you wanted fast food you should of went to McDonald's." Pretty funny but NOT customer friendly management at all. So, if you're ready to wait all night for dinner, give this place a try!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MJSweets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wow friendly family place near Atlantic City”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Great friendly service. Simple deceptively simple restaurant but great food.
Only reason I dont give it an excellent is that I rarely do. If you are near this beach town next to
Hustle bustle Atlantic City, this can be a relaxing warm place to eat. BYOB.
GOOD solid Italian American food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Megazord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
182 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good food and great staff”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My sister in law chose wisely when she selected this place for her birthday dinner. Eleven of us feasted on pasta of all varieties, veal, and seafood. We tried three appetizers - the Cesar salad, calamari, and roasted asparagus wrapped in pancetta. All were delicious. The pasta dishes were served al dente and piping hot. The portions were generous and much more than we could eat after all of our appetizers. We had whole wheat pasta primavera, seafood linguine, gnocchi, lasagna, linguini with artichokes and shrimp, lobster linguini and everyone raved about his/her entree choice. Can't say enough good things about the friendly staff. They made us feel like we were one of the family instead of first time visitors to the restaurant. If you give this friendly place a try, I think you'll be well pleased.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shamrock G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Welcoming family operation with outstanding food”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Entering this causal and very clean restaurant was an indication of the attention to detail provided by the owner, chef and staff. Greeted by Dominic, we thought we were entering a relative's house. He made each of us feel so special. Our party of five was amply satisfied by the sizable, tasty and reasonably-priced portions, not to mention the willingness to customize each entrée to the diner's palate. What a pleasant change from the casino restaurants in nearby Atlantic City! The wonderfully flavored garlic bread and freshly baked Italian bread signaled the beginning of an unforgettable feast. Our appetizers of delicious mussels( a signature dish) and broccoli rabe with hot and sweet sausage, a freshly cooked special, were fantastically flavored and not too spicy, as requested. Three people in our party had the Zuppa di Pesce entree; each one requested the dish to be made according to their individual tastes either with a white garlic sauce or red sauce, fra diablo or milder. That goal was welcomed by our server and accommodated deliciously by Giancarlo, the chef. Another person in our party wanted a lobster tail added to the Gnocchi alla Paesana. No problem and it was served with a to-die-for marinara sauce. One person in our party pronounced it the best marinara sauce he had had in a restaurant. After dinner, we talked with Dominic and Giancarlo about their fabulous restaurant. It is truly a family affair with one of the wives serving and a nephew working the tables. What a class act! Visit this restaurant for a marvelous dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Celebrating43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'aragosta Restaurant also viewed

 
Brigantine, Jersey Shore
Brigantine, Jersey Shore
 
Brigantine, Jersey Shore
Brigantine, Jersey Shore
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing