We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweetest staff!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Time to Eat

Time to Eat
Ranked #4 of 96 Restaurants in Bridgewater
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Flemington, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
“Sweetest staff!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Last summer my best friend and I became regulars at this diner. We went every Tuesday for months. In October, my birthday ended up being on a Tuesday. I promised the staff that we would come after my "fancy" annual birthday dinner for dessert so that my best friend and I would still see them that Tuesday. When I walked in, they were so excited. They sat my family and friends and me down at a table unlike our usual, a booth by the counter, to fit more people. Soon after ordering coffees, a mob of people came out of the kitchen with a birthday cake, that said "Happy Birthday Alexis" on it, singing! Best birthday surprise ever! These people are the absolute sweetest. I highly recommend this diner. Great service, great people!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    63
    20
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1,271 reviews
1,096 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
“...and good service too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I went at busy lunch time. Got a polite greeting on entry. People were waiting but not for long as the staff turned an empty table over in 2 minutes flat. They know what they are doing here. For best value for money, I recommend the sauerkraut hot dog - big and tasty for <$3. As another reviewer said, "Its what a diner should be."

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morgan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wildwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
451 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Just what a diner should be”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Time to Eat has everything a good diner needs: a large selection of menu items, large portions, good food and reasonable prices. I can only comment on breakfast - the eggs came with a generous plate of hash browns. No complaints with the oatmeal either.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank movieglue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
89 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Still The Best Diner In The Area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Since my last review, I've been back several times. The food, service and value is STILL the best in the area. On Fridays you can't miss with the Short Ribs! Wednesday is "Greek Day". The Greek Trio or the Grecian Kabobs are my favorites. Deserts are good and you can't go wrong with any of them. I still haven't seen two of my favorites from the Old Bridgewater Diner days: Fish Cakes over Spaghetti or Fish Cakes over Mac & Cheese( unless I'm missing them on the menu). The best servers are Tara and Jamie! These two ladies really know how to take care of their customers with excellent service! Lately with my foot in a cast the entire staff has been very accommodating to my needs.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GlenS864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, NJ, USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not terrible, but not great!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I basically eat here every once in a while because a friend of mine, who lives in an age restricted community where the food served at dinner is not terrific, loves the hamburgers which can be ordered rare because the diner grinds it own meat. She always orders a hamburger RARE and that is how it is served. I have never been wowed by anything here, but the cream of potato and leek soup served today was tasty and served hot which I appreciated. I will continue to visit this diner so my friend can enjoy her rare hamburger. Have never had a dessert here, but the offerings in the dessert case look quite tasty.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RealtorAtSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Time to Eat also viewed

 

Been to Time to Eat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing