We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for the family for a week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HYATT house Bridgewater
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bridgewater
Certificate of Excellence
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good place for the family for a week”
Reviewed January 6, 2008

Bought my wife and two daughters (age 5 and 7) to visit my relatives for a week. We'd lived a month at a Summerfied Suites in Pleasanton CA a few years back waiting to move into our house and had a good experience so we thought we'd try the chain again.

Layout of the 1 bedroom suite is very functional - a full kitchenette with fridge, microwave, stove, sink (w/ food disposal), cabinents and bowls/dishes/utensils. Maids will put any dishes left in the sink into the dishwasher in your room each day, which is a nice touch. The sofa in the main room folds out into a bed which is where the kids shared a bed. In the bedroom theres a 'walk in' closet with ample shelves, a vanity and then a bathroom with shower.

This location proved to be as good as the CA one, room was clean, maid service didnt miss a beat even though we were staying over the New Year Holiday. Front desk was very helpful, giving us needed extra towels and change for the onsite laundy facilities.

Location worked well for us, right off Rt 22 and 5 minute drive from Bridgewater Mall. No real restaurants or attractions around the hotel (location is in middle of several corporate parks) but there is plenty of dining options a short drive East on Rt 22.

When we make the next family trek to NJ we'll stay there again.

  • Liked — Clean, full kitchenette, spacious
  • Disliked — No real issues
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdublu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    157
    36
    14
    12
See reviews for
171
39
20
220
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2006

Perfect little hotel for an overnight and probably great if you have to stay there long term. We needed a suite so our 2 year old could go to bed without sending us to bed at 8 o'clock too. It was clean, roomy, great little kitchenette, nice breakfast... just right.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, NY
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2006

The room itself was quite nice; a basic but usable kitchen with a sizable living area, and a separate bedroom. We were given an "accessable" room, which lacked the walk-in closet and had a queen bed rather than the king bed we booked. We weren't told this when we checked in.

We also found a little placard above the thermostat, touting the room's energy-saving climate control system that senses when a guest is in the room and turns the system down when the room is vacant.

Unfortunately, that climate control system was designed for a traditional hotel room, not a suite. The sensor is mounted in the living room, and it cannot "see" the bedroom. So, when you go to bed, the climate control shuts off. In our case, the room quickly got too warm, and we spent a very restless night, punctuated by trips to the living room to wake up the air conditioner every few hours.

The bed itself was also a major disappointment for a hotel in this price range. It was a plain-top mattress, and a *very* firm one. Uncomfortably firm. Perhaps this is part of an "accessable" design, but if so, the hotel should confirm that guests want it before booking them in the room.

Another, relatively minor, quibble: For a hotel in this price range, they're quite stingy about the towels. For two people, you get two of each. No spares unless you ask for them.

The kitchen comes with a reasonable selection of cooking utensils. If the air conditioning and bed were fixed, I would have rated the hotel "above average" or better, especially for extended stays. I wish that I had stayed in a hotel more like this one the last time I relocated for work.

  • Liked — Well-designed suite layout, almost like a small apartment
  • Disliked — Lousy air conditioning and hard bed made for a sleepless night
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank macwhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 28, 2005

We purchased our reservations on line with Wyndham @Bridgewater,NJ because it allowed pets.

Nowhere during the reservation/confirmation process did it tell you that there was to be a cleaning charge for the pet,nor was there access to such a link

After we checked in to the place we were notified that there would be a $150 dollar cleaning fee for a one bedroom suite,and a $250 dollar cleaning fee for a two bedroom suite.

When we argued this with the clerk and she printed out a page which was down link page called "guestrooms" and showed us the charges.

We thought this was an under handed way to to do business.

Anyone using these facilities better check before hand if they want to board a pet

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2005

If you are every travelling for business in the Raritan area, try this place. They are really accomodating to business travelers and go out of their way to make you feel at home. They even will buy your groceries for the week for you if you leave a list. Hand it to them in the morning on your way to work and the food will be in the refrigerator when you return in the evening!

The other side of the coin is that it is not exactly for tourists or families as their operations tends to be reduced during the weekend as most of the business travelers are gone til Sunday evening. Even the housekeeping staff is reduced and you have to request service if you are there for the weekend.

If you are a business traveler in the area, however, I would highly recommend this one.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sushi2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, NJ
Level Contributor
83 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2004

I was invited to the hotel the first day it grand open when I was at Merck, we were treated a very nice lunch there, and this expensive suite hotel could survive due partially to the Merck Headquarter and many corporate traveling. If you have been to Merck Headquarter at Whitehouse station, you will understand why this hotel has to be spotless, clean and shine. It has to be compatible.

The way it has been maintained makes you feel it is a brand new one, but it has been grand open for many years. This Summerfield Suites is even one of the best among its chain (check out Summerfield Suites at White Plains, also very shine).

It has been our family favorite weekend getaway because it is near home, with basketball field, tennis court, swimming pool and BBQ grills and tables. Inside the unit, it has full kitchen, 3 TV, 2 bath ...etc just everything to call home.

In the morning, you got wonderful sit down hot breakfast with scramble eggs, saussage, bakon, hash brown, patato ...etc in addition to all other items you can imagine in other suite hotels. After a whole week of fighting at work and school work, here is the best retreat.

After check in, the kids can go to the court to play with other kids whose parents are on business travel, and you can chat with people from various companies from just anywhere in the country. You broaden your view natually.

This hotel is right off Rt 22 East and very close to Bridgewater Commons Mall, the largest and best mall in the area. You got all the luxury stores you can think off.

Although during weekdays, it may cost you $320 a night for 2br suites and $240 for 1br, but during weekends, it is quite low, 2br may be just $129 and 1br just $89. During winter time, it could go as low as $59 a night, which is a steal. But, if you visit during winter time, be sure to ask a unit as close to the Lobby as possible, or you are going to have a long cold walk to enjoy this complimentary hot breakfast that you sure not want to miss.

Helpful?
Thank biddingforhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
136 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2004

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago for a wedding. This place is really nice. It far surpased my expectations. The rooms are huge, with full kitchens, and spotless. Not the little efficiency kitchens. Nice courtyard and pool. Free breakfast in the morning that includes hot food as well. Complementary happy hour Mon through Thur. They also allow pets. We didn't bring our because we didn't know that, but will use it to our advantage in the future!

Helpful?
Thank Fool for the Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgewater
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bridgewater
2.5 mi away
HYATT house Branchburg
HYATT house Branchburg
#1 of 5 in Branchburg
397 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bridgewater Marriott
Bridgewater Marriott
#4 of 6 in Bridgewater
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bridgewater / Branchburg
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bridgewater
3.0 mi away
Residence Inn Bridgewater Branchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Bridgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Bridgewater

Property: HYATT house Bridgewater
Address: 530 US Highway 22, Bridgewater, NJ 08807-2405 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Bridgewater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bridgewater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Bridgewater 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your HYATT house Bridgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Bridgewater Hotel Bridgewater
Summerfield Suites Bridgewater
Hyatt Bridgewater
Bridgewater Summerfield Suites
Bridgewater Hyatt Summerfield Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing