We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has potential.....Food only average”

La Catena Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
La Catena Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 97 Restaurants in Bridgewater
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Has potential.....Food only average”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our waiter, Frank, was exceptional, first off. Ask for him if you go.
The setting is nice-sort of old-world formal Italian. Reminds me a little of Casa Dante in Jersey City.
The amuse bouche and bread were fine. The appetizer of calamari and broccoli rabe could have been better.
I was there with my wife, adult son and 2 small children, 5 & 7.
First, the good part: They made a special dish for my very picky daughter of pounded chicken breast that was sauted. That was nice and actual tasted great.
Now, the bad part: The wine list, which was expensive, was out of date apparentlt. I ordered the Sonoma Cutrer "The Cutrer" chard. They served the much less expensive SC you can but for around $18.00 retail instead. It was $48.00 on the wine list. Should have sent it back. Next, I ordered the striped bass. Instead of striped bass, they served Sea Bass, which tastes and is textured totally differently. Even though Sea Bass is expensive, I HATE IT! Should have complained, but seeing as we were trying to move along with the kids, I ate it anyway. Overall it wasn't bad otherwise, but the food was only average.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Backdoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    13
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I celebrated my daughter's communion here one afternoon and was disappointed with the food. Most of the dishes lacked taste. The linguine with clam sauce was blah, the house pasta was horrible, and the salmon entree was flat. I had an issue with the amount of wine that was served, and you can't keep track of who drank what and how many, so either go with open bar service or set a limit on the number of bottles you want to spend, for instance, just have two bottles of wine per table. You can always add later on. Be careful, though, their wines are expensive. The service was great. I was also disappointed in the appearance of the Fireplace Room. It was very dark, even though it has lots of windows. Ideal for an evening affair.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taurus044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Kept Driving by..was suprised”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Been driving past La Catena for the longest time and finlly decided to give it a try.

Party of 6 Saturday evening 7:00PM. Outside is deceiving inside is warm, with a friendly hospitality and to ours suprise the table was ready. Service was okay...

Food claming to be Northern Italy(???) was okay, pricy but fair size portions. Wine list was decent and like most pricey.

I had Horseradish Crusted Salmon, Sun Dried Tomato, Bean Puree, Mustard Champagne Sauce. Fish was okay but they left off the Horseradish Crust. I asked about it and was told it is very lite....okay so lite that it breaks down and vanishes when it is cooke. He did not get it...

Anyway would not return as there is much better Northern Italy and for less money.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VoyageursNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Surprise. It's great”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Lived in the area for 12 years before I tried it. Now I go once a month. Best Italian food and service around.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Lenidgman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed April 15, 2011

Food was very good...Big portions! It's not cheap, but it is a fine dining meets mom and pop italian...
It doesn't seem very busy, and you would never expect the inside to be pretty because the outside looks a bit shabby

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dh714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Catena Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to La Catena Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing