We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great steak!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rue Noir Steakhouse - CLOSED

Rue Noir Steakhouse
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, French, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Readington Road
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great steak!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

This was the best steak I've had in a long time. The atmosphere is nice and the food and service were excellent. I do have to say it's a little expensive for what you get. The portions are a little light and the beer I had came in a fancy glass, but it didn't hold too much. Overall it's a nice place to go if you're looking for a more upscale place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Chooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    6
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“New chef, great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I previously reviewed Rue Noir after having a terrible experience. The owner, Nick, invited me back after employing a new Executive Chef and he has hit the mark. The fresh breads, homemade desserts, excellent steak selections and happy hour bites are all delicious. Based on my improved experience, I actually coordinated a catered event through them which received top responses for the quality of the food!

It is a definite "must-try" place if you have not. I think you will enjoy it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 367peterw367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The return of Rue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

I met my cousin at Nik' s Steakhouse last night for happy hour and dinner. The place is absolutely beautiful. Great atmosphere and a relaxing setting. Happy hour was great. The drinks were $5.00 and so was the wine. The $6.00 appetizers were an excellent start to my meal. I had the southern fried chicken skewers with buffalo sauce and the hand rolled BBQ pork wontons. They were amazing. I ordered the Petit Filet with mashed potatoes and asparagus. My steak was cooked to perfection, and the sides were equally impressive. Chef Q came out to speak with us and make sure that everything was to our satisfaction. He is a definite asset to this restaurant. Great place for a relaxing meal with friends, date night, or a quick burger. Way to go!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
210 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Steaks as Well as Other Choices!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We had occasion to dine at Rue Noir twice! My husband and I ate there by ourselves and had wonderful steak entree's! The second time we suggested eating there with family we were visiting. All our meals were just as delicious as well as great service.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JM0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Art on a Plate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

My wife and I came in for dinner Friday. We were greeted by staff and sat at a table by the raw bar and meat display. We saw who we assumed to be the chef making desserts. The place has a nice décor. We saw other tables around us enjoying their meals. We ordered the beets and frisee salad, which came out promptly and was very good. My wife ordered the French chicken breast with saffron risotto. I had the braised short ribs with the mustered spatzel and red cabbage confit.....WOW! Both entrees were amazing!!!!! Didn't have room for dessert this time but we will be back. Great job guys

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rue Noir Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing