We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively Italian Restaurant”

UVA Restaurant & Wine Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Oakhurst
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lively Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We go to Uva on occasion, usually because we can buy a Groupon deal. If it were not for that, we would probably not go because we find that it's a little too pricey for Italian food. What we like about Uva is the pesto served with warm bread as soon as you sit down, the incredible service, and some very good pasta dishes (I love the lasagna). But they don't always hit the mark on everything. While the lamb chop was really good one night (and it should be at the price!), the last time I ordered it, it lacked flavor although it was cooked perfectly. We recently also ordered the artichoke appetizer and the mozzarella tomato appetizer. Both were quite pricey but we weren't overly impressed by either. It's still a nice place to go for dinner but I'd only go if I have a discount. The appetizers are the price of entrees at many other restaurants!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lisam649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    28
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the best Happy Hours @ the Shore”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have been coming here for years and love the happy hour! The selection is great and the food is fresh and hot and the wait staff is very pleasant. It is family owned and the bartender Kevin is great along with the drink specials. Thursday night is vodka night, where any vodka is $7.00 and Martini's are $8.00. All in all, a great favorite of mine and many of my friends. Vera is a great waitress and the owner is usually on premises and is personable too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A great reason for coming back”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

If you live in the provinces (away from New York) you find that you settle for less. With Pagano's UVA it is top quality-very professional and perfect every time. Went on my 65th birthday with friends. Everyone raved. We all wished we had the appetites we had when we were younger and could do a multi-course dinner. The menu is extensive and the service is the best of the Jersey Shore. Three had the little hats pastas with Italian sausage and broccoli rabe. I had the flat pasta in a heavenly bolognesse sauce. I called ahead and the hostess's daughter made an incredible birthday cake.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penna.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Dinner on an off-season Tuesday night”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We ate at Uva's on a recent Tuesday evening, mostly because it was the only restaurant we could find open for dinner at 8 pm. The meal was good, as was the wine. My steak was overcooked, and our server did offer to take it back, then she offered a free dessert. There were only a few couples in the restaurand we were all seated right by the cooking area, which seemed odd. We had requested a quiet table, which it was, until the karaoke (? - it was either karaoke or a very off-key performer) started up in the bar area. Our server squealed and left us, saying that her friend just came in. I don't think I would return to this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank urbanite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“Still a great restaurant!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Uva is still a great place on the Shore for Italian. We have been coming here for quite a long time.
Whether it's for the Happy Hour specials, a romantic dinner for 2, summer evening outside eating, or for a family group --- it's been great. The varied daily specials are always interesting.
Thanks Anthony!
Keep up the good work. We enjoy it.
Cheers! -------- Ken

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JerseyBeachcomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed UVA Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

 
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 

Been to UVA Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing