We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Okay”

Villa Mannino Ristorante
Ranked #6 of 52 Restaurants in Bordentown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hamilton, NJ
Level Contributor
136 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife & I have dined here 3 or 4 times and have just not been "wowed". It seems to be a popular place for a large gathering or private party though. We just have noticed that the chicken parmigiana was a bit tough one time and another time the pasta dishes were overcooked although my daughter likes the ziti. Its a decent place to have a graduation party or something along those lines and the prices are not bad.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BIGDAVE57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    21
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Used to be better.”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We have been coming for years. Last few times food is of less and less quality. Marsala sauce is more like a butter sauce and what used to be full size sea scallops are now tiny bay scallops. Tomatoe sauce has lost its taste. Sorry to say not my favorite anymore.

Maria

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Msmith238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
127 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Sadly, the salad was the highlight...”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stopped here for dinner on a business colleague's recommendation. The ambiance seemed to be an attempt to bring the outside in, with a piazza-like feel & high ceilings, but the effect was diminished by the cafeteria-grade tables & chairs. Standard Italian fare is offered on the full menu, but be aware - no alcoholic beverages are served here. You may bring your own, though.

While the pizza was recommended by the people I surveyed outside Minnino's, I chose to go with a veal dish. On the waiter's recommendation I chose the veal marsala, which came with a salad, complimentary bread, and a penne pasta side. The bread basket contained baked dough that must have come from pizza dough scraps - it was warm, but seemed like it had been kept so in a dry-heat pan because it quickly came to room temperature and toughened. Fortunately, the salad was full of fresh ingredients and the house balsamic dressing was a good dip for the bread.

The veal marsala was neither appealing in presentation, nor taste. While the veal cutlets were tender, they were overshadowed by a pile of quartered mushrooms and a starchy, gravy-like marsala sauce. The penne pasta side appeared to be a bowl of pasta with a ladle of mediocre red sauce poured on it. My disappointment was complete upon tasting the offerings.

I guess I should've gone with the pizza...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiscriminatingPalate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Used to be great.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've been coming to this restaurant since 2001. I swore by their calamari. I boasted to friends and family that the calamari was the best ever - bar none. The pasta fragiole was to die for. Now, the squid is rubbery and salty, the soup lacks pasta and everything else just deteriorated in the last 3 years or so. My guess is that they have a new chef. It has to be that. Do not go here for the ambience, you won't find it. The place needs acoustic adjustments as it gets really loud. I didn't mind that when the food was great. I'll come back again in the future to see if they have mended their ways.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordentown, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Baby Shower”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I just had my daughter's baby shower at Villa Mannino this past Saturday in the Sunroom. We don't know if it is a boy or girl so the decor was perfect--they did the tables beautiful with pink and blue. The service was excellent and when I asked the waitress for things she brought them to me right away with a polite attitude.

The staff worked hard and was very efficent and never got in the guests way. The food was delicious and there was plenty of it.

Everyone had a great experience and I will certainly have more parties there again. They place was extremely clean and dirty dishes were taken away promptly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jobo1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Mannino Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Villa Mannino Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing