We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not many choices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Bordentown/Trenton
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bordentown
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not many choices”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Unfortunately there are not a lot of quality choices in the Bordentown area and Candlewood is no different. Many of the washers/dryers were not operating. Cleanliness was average at best, poor in the common areas. Noisy neighbors didn't help and the cursory cleaning once a week was average also. Bed was fairly comfortable, tv was small and didnt fit the room. I rate this hotel average at best and wouldn't go out of my way to stay there should I return to the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USAlooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Bordentown/Trenton, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear USAlooper,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. My apologies for the inconvenience you experienced over some of the facilities which are not working. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and take actions accordingly. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    26
    14
    2
    5
See reviews for
39
10
12
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My boyfriend’s son was playing in a soccer tournament in Bordentown over the weekend. He had an early game on Sunday at 8:25 AM, so instead of driving and hour and a half to get there, we decided to stay overnight. The hotel was very easy to get to and only 2.7 miles from the fields. We arrived on Saturday around12:30, but our room wasn't ready yet. So we grabbed a bite to eat and went to his soccer game. We came back to the hotel around 2:30 and our room was ready. The room was VERY clean and spacious. I liked the refrigerator and microwave. It was very convenient since we had leftovers from lunch. I don't know how old this hotel is, but it appeared to be brand new or very well maintained. We asked for extra pillows around 9:30 PM and they arrived within 5 minutes. I was very satisfied with this hotel.

Room Tip: There is no pool, only a workout room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford
Level Contributor
340 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

When you consider staying at any Candlewood, know the hotel chain before you book your room. Read about the amenities and understand there isn't a daily room cleaning, free breakfast or a doorman... If privacy, a clean studio apartment, pool and fitness center is what you want then stay here. Otherwise stay somewhere else.

As Candlewood Suites go, this is one of the best I've stayed in. Larger than most with a very well stocked "Candlewood Cupboard". Very friendly staff. Typically the rates are among the least expensive in the region. Nothing bad to report here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audubon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I travel almost 70% and stay at a Hilton or Marriott for the most part with exceptions for conferences or meetings in required locations. This was the meeting with others from out of the state. I was unable to book the Hilton and had to stay at the Candlewood as the alternative.
The facility was kept clean but the usual amenities were missing. There is no maid service during a 5 day stay. If you need anything you need to request it and towels or sheets can be exchanged for fresh ones. The steel roller door closed at the desk from evening to morning… The heat/ AC were on an infrared sensor and turned off if you left the room and back on when you returned. The room took 20 minutes or more to heat or cool to level.
Carpet was in need of repair as it had ripples throughout the sleeping area. The kitchen area was a simulated wood. Bathroom lighting was dim. The refrigerator ran nonstop. I did let them know on the second day and no attempt was made to repair while I was there over the last day. Maybe they decided to wait until I checked out.
Pricing was not within $12 of the Hilton down the street so it was not really a deal. Especially if you take advantage of the free breakfast at the Hampton.

Room Tip: Go to the Hampton down the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dlee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Bordentown/Trenton, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Dlee1,

Thank you for your review and enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comment, we truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. Please accept my apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. We are continually reviewing the products and service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

Again, we wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chittenango, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was my second time at this hotel and I am very pleased with it this time as i was a year ago, easy access to Base and the Highway, close enough to resturants without too close to them for noise and traffic, Staff was very friendly and always helpful, rooms are very clean and comfortable, will recommend this hotel to anyone I know and will stay here again should I find myself in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramossr65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, PA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed here last year for a Lax tournament and found it charming in a practical way. Loved the little grocery, had a beautiful large bed and bath, and plenty of room - we were bummed that our trip was merely overnight but all went well.

This year returned for the same tournament and the hotel was fairly unsatisfactory, Once again the Front Desk creeped me out (very small and dark and you feel as if no one else is there should you need anything) but the biggest disappointment was the room. We had three of us and for a rather pricey $145 without taxes, we had a tiny bedroom with an air vent and a little bureau. The bed took up most of the room so we threw the suitcase on the desk. Outside the suite was also cramped, and once we put the sleeper sofa out it was like a box. Worst part was that the air conditionning was blowing so hard on the sofa bed that we had to block it with pillows, but as there was no incoming air into the actual bedroom, we in there roasted. Hotel is quite clean but without a pool or any type of lobby it's sort of a "spend the night there and hit the road establishment". Guess what bothered me the most was the price as the whole idea behind staying at a hotel was to be close to our early morning game - thus we really just needed a place to sleep, and with the cramped quarters, the one freezing room and the other stifling, we certainly did not get what we paid for this time around.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PALaxMom17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Bordentown/Trenton, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear PALaxMom17,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I am pleased that you returned to the hotel, however I am sorry that you were left feeling disappointed about your room accommodations. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused by our air conditioning unit. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, Connecticut
Level Contributor
234 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for the weekend to visit someone who was at fort dix. It is a few exits away but not far. Six flags is about. 40 min drive. The room was new and clean! It was an efficiency and i was rather impressed with what they supplied to make the stay more convenient. For the price it was worth it! They have a nice outdoot bbq grilling area too with covered gazebo. The building itself was close to a few restaurants but if you wanted to really go out at night it maybe somewhat of a drive depending on what type of scene you are looking for. I found the staff to be friendly and again i am very cautious staying at any hotel. This one i was very comfortable in and impressed by the cleanliness. They do allow pets bur that made no difference. Would stay again if we were in the area

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyrose0853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordentown hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Bordentown
Hampton Inn Bordentown
#1 of 11 in Bordentown
389 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bordentown - Trenton South
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 11 in Bordentown
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Bordentown Inn
Best Western Bordentown Inn
#2 of 11 in Bordentown
278 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Bordentown
Ramada Bordentown
#7 of 11 in Bordentown
249 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Bordentown
Days Inn Bordentown
#4 of 11 in Bordentown
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Bordentown/Trenton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Bordentown/Trenton

Property: Candlewood Suites Bordentown/Trenton
Address: 200 Rising Sun Rd, Bordentown, NJ 08505-9605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Bordentown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bordentown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Bordentown/Trenton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consider Us Home at the Candlewood Suites extended stay hotel at McGuire AFB - Ft Dix - Trenton - Bordentown. The Candlewood Suites extended stay hotel is a member of the IHG family of brands which includes InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn and Staybridge Suites hotels. Specializing in your extended stay experience, the Candlewood Suites is the perfect environment for government (per diem), project teams, training, relocation, temporary and corporate housing needs.The Candlewood Suites hotel is centrally located at NJ Turnpike Exit 7, Exit 56/57 of I-295 near Route 206; minutes from Trenton, Philadelphia, Princeton, Lawrenceville and Wrightstown business / real estate districts. Our location offers near access to McGuire AFB, Ft. Dix, Prince, Ocean Spray, Petro, Princeton University, Historic Philadelphia, Six Flags Great Adventure, Camden Aquarium and Waterfront Park. The Candlewood Suites Hotel offers apartment like suites with all of the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short term hotel real estate needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) offers studio and one bedroom apartment like suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living and work area, TV with DVD player and free wired/wireless Internet. Other features include meeting facilities, 24-hour business center with free Internet, free laundry facilities, fitness center, swimming pool (access), courtyard with grills and our signature Candlewood Cupboard convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Bordentown/Trenton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Bordentown/Trenton Hotel Bordentown
Candlewood Bordentown
Bordentown Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing