We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem”

Under the Moon Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Under the Moon Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 52 Restaurants in Bordentown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Home Style
Cross street: Crosswicks
Lambertville
Level Contributor
184 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Gem”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

This is the sweetest gem in Bordentown. Met a local who always frequents here. We had lunch and loved the new digs, exceptional food and terrific service. The family who own this were all present as usual. This is always a plus in any business. Quality of food is outstanding as are the flavors. Wish we had left from for dessert!
Keep up the great work.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JG1Lambertville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    49
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SOUTHAMPTON, NJ
Level Contributor
113 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“"Funky, little restaurant in historic Bordentown"”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We didn't know just what to expect walking into this unusual restaurant. It was difficult just deciding if they were open or not from the outside. But there was a lunch menu posted so we gave it a go. Every chair, every table, every glass, every item of silverware was mis-matched and charming. Our server was a very pleasant young lady. Our sandwiches were quite good and filling. We had hoped to sample their wonderful bread pudding for dessert but were too full. So, we took a single serving home with us which turned out to be enough for three servings. Best bread pudding I've ever had! Don't know about dinner but we enjoyed our very nice lunch. Try it if you get to Bordentown.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DICKKEIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Went there last week. Prices have gone up and service has gone down.. My steak used to be $24 but now is $28, delicious but now salad is not even included. The Bread machine was broken so no salad and no bread . Service was slow, only 1 waitress for the entire restaurant. Not a do-again unfortunately.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aruba
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dinner was ok, BEST brownie I ever had!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I started with the crab bisque soup, it was salty but okay. My husband had the squash appetizer, delicious - a great vegetarian option. I ordered the big salad (it was $18.00!), it was just okay, so definitely over priced. Nothing special about the dressing or any of the toppings. The tomatoes were icky pick - they probably should of just been omitted altogether. The salad that came with my husband's meal had way too much dressing. My husband had the penne with vodka sauce, it was very tasty. We ended with a brownie which as the title of my review states, THE BEST browine I ever ate. Overall, an okay meal but we will not return for dinner - perhaps for another one of those brownies. Extremely over priced.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJSweets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good food and atmosphere”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and I have never eaten at Under the Moon Cafe before and we heard very positive feedback from friends, so we decided to have dinner there last night 3/8. The atmosphere was wonderful as was the food. However we were not very please with our waitress her name was Ashling, we came across very rude and arrogant. She left our table once serving our food and never came back to check on us, upon us flagging her down to get another drink her attitude appeared as if we were an inconvenience. As we glanced around the room we can see all the other waitresses and bus people seemed very pleasant, unfortunately we did not get this same pleasantry with our waitress. Giving the atmosphere and food we will definitely be returning, However should we been greeted with the same waitress we will not be staying. Going out to eat should be a pleasure and this young lady needs a class in dealing with the general public if she is going to maintain such a position having to deal with people.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Under the Moon Cafe also viewed

 
Bordentown, NJ
Bordentown, NJ
 

Been to Under the Moon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing