We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is okay but the service is terrible”

Brookside Thai Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 119 Restaurants in Bloomfield
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
“Food is okay but the service is terrible”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The food is okay, but the service is terrible. The lady behind the cashier tall and skinny was the most rude and the servers are very unaccommodating when it comes to seating selection. They can do much better if they improve their service and attitude. They are rude! I would not go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Been here many times and have never been disappointed”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I love the food! From Pad Thai to Moo Yang, the food is magnificent!!!! I go here at least once or twice a month, and I LOVE it! The dumplings are my jam!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be.”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

The food has regressed in recent times. Was much better several years ago.
The worst part is that the hostess who used to manage the floor left several years ago. She was an absolute pleasure. The woman who took over is downright rude. She was easily overlooked when the food was top notch, but with the decline in food quality, she's no longer tolerable. On one visit my dining companion asked for a knife. The new hostess berated her for her inquiry, claiming that it was an insult to the food. Imagine asking for a knife in a restaurant in America. The nerve!
I used to eat there several times a month. Now I rarely do take out, let alone dine in.
As for the food, the duck salad is as good as it gets. Their pad cee yew is exceptional, as is their musmun. Every now and again, they'll have a soft shell crab special that they do well, especially with basil. Their soups are pretty standard, as are their spring rolls.
They are BYO. Their prices are reasonable, and they do a nice job with their price point and portion sizes on their lunch specials. The kitchen moves quick enough. However, the hostess makes you feel unwelcome to the point of being uncomfortable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hitmanoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville,NJ
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great Thai food”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is our second time to eat at this place and the food is good and is consistent. Pass the appetizers and get the main course. Calamari was not fresh but breading was good. We had the duck and it was a refreshing take from the chinese duck viand that we usually eat. The noodle soup can be requested to be less spicy or spicy. The curry was pretty good but soupy. It was 5 of us and with 3 appetizers, 2 bowls of noodle, 3 main course and 5 thai iced teas it totaled to 100+. A bit pricey compared to other Thai places but service and atmosphere is above average. I believe it is a BYOB place as well. A good place to check for non-asians who wants to explore asian cuisine.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank herleiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
149 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I would rate this very good. However, probably second to Red Basil in Rutherford for Thai food. I will return again to Brook side Thai to try their other dishes. I ordered the red curry salmon and it was very dry and hardly any sauce. It was tasty nevertheless.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amitra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brookside Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Brookside Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing