We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cozy place”

The Claremont Tavern
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Jackets required
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice cozy place”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We just stumbled upon this place on a beautiful day. The atmosphere and food was very nice. Relaxing and cozy. I will go back there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pandl0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    29
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bernardsville, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Meal!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife and I ate dinner at the Claremont Tavern yesterday with our 2 teenage sons and we could not have been more pleased with the meal. The food, the service, and the atmosphere were all first rate.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neshanic Station, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I were out and about and had some time to kill on a Saturday afternoon. As always he was hungry so we stopped in for a quick bite. This is a new favorite place! Hubby had the Bayou Burger and I had the Chipotle Turkey Burger - both were outstanding. I could not pass up a "side" of the beer mac & cheese. This could have easily been a meal, I ended up having a bite to try it (very good) and brought it home. Waiter and bartender were very friendly. We will make sure to go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jwc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A great discovery! A new favorite!”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My wife and I had lunch with friends at the Claremont Tavern today for the first time. Without a doubt, I will return there again and again! It's a new favorite. The food is fantastic. The service is wonderful. I had the calamari (great!), the Bayou Burger (greater!) and sweet potato fries (greatest I have ever had!). Fun, casual place, with an upstairs room for special events. The Claremont Tavern is a gem!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Capebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great casual food and excellent service”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Hadn't visited this place in about a year and decided to try it again. I had the sirloin tips and crab cake entree and it was terrific! Very unusual flavors to pair together and it was a real surprise. The wife was craving a burger and she loved it. Our server had only been working there one month and she was very good and had a great personality. The upstairs can get noisy with kids so be mindful of that. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judge_Smails-BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Claremont Tavern also viewed

 
Bernardsville, NJ
Bernardsville, NJ
 

Been to The Claremont Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing