We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place, a memorable experience......worth a repeat visit!”
Review of Bernards Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bernards Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bernardsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed at The Inn for a getaway weekend and it is truly a very special place. From our warm welcome at the Front Desk & a personal escort to our room to the fabulous dining expereinces in the Restaurant.....the service was very personal. There are only 20 rooms and each one is different. Our room, Green Acres, was beautifully appointed. We loved the homemade cookies we recieved on arrival. Each meal we had at the Restaurant was memorable, from a burger at The Bar and a great breakfast, to the tasting menu at dinner. The food is some of the best we have enjoyed ( and we travel extensively). We will definitely plan a return visit . Bernardsville is a charning small town with lots of art galleries. There are loads of packages on their website that look like like lots of fun - we"ll choose one of those next trip. Can't wait to eat there again (we understand from the wait staff that the menu changes every season - we had the spring menu and it was "yummy".

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IrishPrincess23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 95 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2010

Our Valentine's Day 2010 could not have been better ! Due to an overwhelming recommendation from a friend of ours that just had his wedding there, The Bernards Inn was a must try.
From START TO FINISH, we received the VIP treatment from the entire staff at Bernards Inn. We only live about 55 minutes away and normally would not do an overnight at something so close, but needed to get away from the everyday grind.

From the warm front desk welcome, to the special requests for dessert to the room delivery, there was nothing they wouldn't do for us. The restaurant alone is reason to go back next week. Yes that soon because the menu changes weekly and I wouldn't want to miss out the creative dishes(and the surprise bonus course).

The Valentine Package truly Over Delivered. Chilled champagne, chocolate strawberries,truffles, cookies, a dozen roses in the room of which was very spacious. King bed to swim in and plenty of natural light. The 3 course dinner was culinary excellence. It was so good that I wanted to savor dessert, so we had it delivered to the room 2 hours later. Incredibly, this was offered to us by the waitress. It was perfect!
This place is a true gem. Myself being the in restaurant industry, its nice to know that there are places that" know how to do it right!" It would be a shame not to spread the word to others. You'll only have to try it once to raise your expectations of everyone else.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DinaNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2010

Be warned. If you are planning to hold a private or special event at the Bernards Inn, we strongly advise you to reconsider. The catering and management of the Bernards Inn are some of the most unprofessional and downright deceitful people we have ever encountered. Here’s why:

We were in the midst of planning a 40th birthday dinner, and we considered holding it in one of the private dining rooms at the Bernards Inn. Because we decided to pull out all the stops with a cocktail hour, passed hors d’oeuvres, coursed dinner and wine pairings, we decided to limit the dinner to approximately 14-16 of our closest friends. We contacted Lauren, the sales manager at the Bernards Inn to inquire about availability. We conveyed to Lauren the number of guests and of our expectations for the party itself. She sent us event information, and we took a trip to the Inn on the following Sunday to meet with Lauren personally and to view the room.

Upon arrival, we learned that the wine cellar room is next door to another room, separated only by glass doors. We asked if there would be another party at the same time as ours and she said possibly. If it turned out that the other room was not booked for the same night as our event, Lauren offered it to us for an additional $500. She said she would check on the availability and get back to us. We were very excited about the space, but could not seriously consider having a dinner party in the wine cellar room with another party going on in the other room. It was just too impracticable and not very private. Lauren recognized this and said she would let us know ASAP.

On Monday, Lauren emailed to say that she was able to free up the other room for our date. She then proceeded to say that the Inn now would require a minimum of 20 people at the dinner. This was the first time she had ever mentioned anything about minimum attendance. It was not mentioned at all when we were there on Sunday, even though we were very clear about our expected number of guests. We told Lauren this, and being that we were potentially going to be spending more money than most on the menu and upgrades, it seemed odd that they would suddenly complicate things over a couple of extra guests. Lauren apologized for not mentioning the 20 person minimum, and advised us that she would speak with Diane, the Inn’s general manager, to see what could be done for us.

On Tuesday evening, Lauren emailed. This time, she advised that they were now requiring a minimum food and beverage commitment from us of $5,000. Within 48 hours, they had changed their pricing position 3 times. We found this to be outrageous and frankly very deceitful. The Bernards Inn’s mission statement declares “It is our goal to exceed the expectations of our guests”. Frankly, we do not see how presenting inaccurate pricing information, and then commanding that the guest be held accountable for these errors can be expected to exceed anyone's expectations. This is NOT the kind of service that we expect from a 4 diamond/4 star Inn. If the Inn can’t even get its proposal correct, what are they going to produce at the time of the event? We expressed our disappointment to Lauren, however no attempts to remedy the situation were made.

The worst part is that we really loved the Inn up until this point. We recently moved to the area and looked forward to making this a special place for our family and friends. The current management’s attempt to “nickel and dime” us, and make no effort to remedy the situation, has permanently damaged our perception of this Inn.

Needless to say, we will not be holding any event at the Bernards Inn, nor will we be patronizing them under any circumstances. As professionals ourselves, we understand what customer service is and should be. Never in our careers have we ever encountered such lack of professionalism as we did with the management and staff of the Bernards Inn. This Inn does not deserve 4 stars, and failed miserably to provide that standard to us.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
5  Thank nyctdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2009

I received the booking off of Luxury Link, and could not have been happier with the service we received at this hotel. First off, the place was beautiful, and decorated wondefully for the holiday. We arrived on a Friday night, and the place was bustling. Cava awaited us in the bedroom, with a fruit basket, cheese (which was not the best), cookies and chocolates (delicious). We had a great time at the bar on Friday night, a piano player serenaded the crowd, and our bartender was delightful. They also have a great selection of wines by the glass, and he allowed us to taste a few before we made our selection. We awoke late on Saturday morning, but they were great in bringing us room service, just a few minutes before breakfast was to be finished. It was cold, so rather than shopping in town, we drove to the Mall at Short Hills, a really nice high end mall. We were able to easily do our Christmas shopping, which is much easier out in the burbs, than in New York City, where we live.
Saturday night we had the 6 course tasting/wine pairing. Delicious! And they even allowed us to substitute a couple dishes. We finished the weekend with the buffet brunch on Sunday. What a nice, relaxing weekend we had. And such a good value if you get it off of luxury link!! We will definitely be returning in the spring!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CityDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

I stayed at the Inn for couple days this passed week, it was fantastic! from the rooms, the food and specially the service I received I will give it a 10-10.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank af8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We had a wonderful time at this historic inn. We especially were happy to have only paid $429 for a two night stay with 6 course wine pairing dinner from Luxury Link. That goodness for that, because their rack rate is not inexpensive. The rooms are wonderful and tastefully decorated for the period of this property. We arrived the Saturday night before Easter and had a great time observing guests from the area arriving for Easter Brunch. The service is top notch and the chef run restaurant is phenomenal as is the extensive wine list (60 pages plus). The wine pairings menu is the way to go if you want to taste several dishes and wines. We found many guests come in from the city for just a night or two and wander around the area. There are plenty of shops in Bernardsville along with the neighboring historic towns.
We would recommend this property quickly, but not for the younger set who might be disappointed by the quiet atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDXStocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

My husband and I came for a weekend for our anniversary, and the stay couldn't be more pleasant. Starting with the most accomodating check-in concierge (we arrived pretty late and yet him and the manager were so helpful!) We had suite accomodations which had the most comfortable bed, beatiful very cozy interior, charming, really. The highlight of our stay was the dinner - 6 course tasting dinner with wine pairings. We pride ourselves to be quite the foodies, and couldn't be pleased more. I am honestly quite surprised at the previous review with comments on the dinner and the wine. Perhaps, the menu was changed since then?
The rose champaigne was delightful. Every single course we had was superb. At the end of the meal the chef came out to our table, and that was also a very nice surprise for my husband.
Our server was a pro. The service was as you would expect it at Daniel's or at La Bernardine. '
I would and I did recommend this place to anyone. Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lenad26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bernardsville
12.8 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
731 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
1,071 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Olde Mill Inn
The Olde Mill Inn
#2 of 4 in Basking Ridge
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
825 reviews
4.8 mi away
Courtyard Basking Ridge
Courtyard Basking Ridge
#3 of 4 in Basking Ridge
312 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dolce Basking Ridge
Dolce Basking Ridge
#1 of 4 in Basking Ridge
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernards Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernards Inn

Address: 27 Mine Brook Rd, Bernardsville, NJ 07924-2428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Bernardsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bernardsville
Price Range: $217 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bernards Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bernards Inn is a AAA Four-Diamond and Forbes Travel Guide Recommended award-winning hotel and restaurant featuring twenty beautifully appointed guestrooms along with a fine dining restaurant and over 5,500 square feet of private event space. The fine dining restaurant features progressive American cuisine prepared under the direction of Executive Chef Corey Heyer and complimented by an award-winning wine collection from Wine Director Terri Baldwin. The lovingly restored Inn combines Old World charm with stylish sophistication and modern luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bernards Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernards Hotel Bernardsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing