We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Filthy, bug-ridden motel”

Red Carpet Inn Berlin
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn Berlin
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Berlin
Forty Fort PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Filthy, bug-ridden motel”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was a nightmare. Room was filthy, smelly, on the second floor down some god forsaken hallway. No fridge, no microwave, no breakfast, no ice machine, no closet and NOT ONE HANGER FOR CLOTHES. I went down to complain and ask for a refund, but they refused. Went back up and my daughter had spotted several dead, fat bugs in the corners of the room, hidden by the dark rug. Then I took the bugs in a tissue down to the reception and pushed them through the bullet proof glass hole. I said I will file a report with the authorities, and she showed me a different room, newly renovated and clean looking, on ground level. A man with holey t shirt brought in a cot for our teenage daughter but it was seriously old and sagging, so bad I asked her to sleep with us in one bed. It was late,so we stayed because all other hotels were booked (soccer tournament weekend). But even in the new room, no hangers and the refrigerator had the plug cut off. Mind you, the bill was $70+ so not that cheap. And there were two dead bugs in the corner. Creepy, filthy, shoddy rip off. Just terrible. PS NO INTERNET! No matter what the sign says, no Internet. Pass this one up. It ruined our weekend in New Jersey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GZM1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    0
    0
    7
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2012

My travel due to my job brought me in Berlin, I found this motel and checked in, price was right for the night stay. King size bed was comfortable, sheets were clean, rooms were clean and nicely decorated. Found out in morning that they are renovating all the rooms. Mine was one of the renovated room. Staff was very welcoming. I will for sure stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are renovating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

This place is horrible. Staff is unprofessional and rude!!!! Rooms are not the cleanest and the customer service is the worst. It is very clear they don't care about repeat guests.We for sure won't be. It us really terrible how the hotel mitel business has deteriorated!!!! Don't count on clean rooms or any care at all about you!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amcssp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2007

similar experience as the previous reviewer from October. The room was exactly as they described, dirty run down, wallpaper hanging off the walls, and cigarette burns on everything and it smelled terrible, it was hard to sleep with the smell. The bathroom fixtures were coming out of the walls and it just was awful. The sheets thankfully looked washed as the other reviewer had stated.

The live-in manager was exactly as described in the previous post, quite unpleasant.

Unfortunately I did not capture any photos of the horribleness of this dump, I forgot my camera that weekend. But trust me, its something to avoid.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank aapocketz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOISE, IDAHO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

I booked this motel online and chose it because it was close to where my son lived---we were visiting from the west. I should have noticed some red flags when I entered the 3 by 6 lobby and the clerk was protected by a solid wall of glass with a small access space at the bottom to pass paperwork. He required we pay for three days up front and it was late and we were tired.

The room was filthy, wall paper hanging from the walls, cigarette burns on the bedspread and table, wall boards missing. The only thing clean in the entire room were the sheets. The motel had about 30 rooms and only three other cars, besides ours were parked. The following morning only one car other than ours was left.

The next morning we packed up and I went to the lobby and the clerk came out in his undershirt---he is a live in manager. I told him we were checking out and I wanted a refund for the next two nights. He refused. I threatened to call the police and he said, "call anyone you want". I then asked him for a receipt showing we only stayed one night---I planned on contesting the credit card bill. He refused. I was getting a little angry at this point and told him I wasn't going to let this go away. I asked for his manager's contact information and told him I would go to corporate headquarters if I had to. He thought about this for a second and finally agreed to refund one night's lodging of two prepaid nights. I took the offer figuring I could contest the second night with my credit card company.

Bottom line is this motel is a dive and the rest speaks for itself.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Ethical issues with management and a filthy room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Klinkerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berlin
7.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Monroe Inn & Suites
5.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Voorhees Mt. Laurel/Cherry Hill
2.7 mi away
Travelers Lodge
Travelers Lodge
#1 of 2 in Atco
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Philadelphia/Voorhees
5.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Voorhees Mt. Laurel
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Turnersville (Philadelphia Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn Berlin

Property: Red Carpet Inn Berlin
Address: 1036 S Route 73, Berlin, NJ 08009-2600
Location: United States > New Jersey > Berlin
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn Berlin 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Red Carpet Inn Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Red Carpet Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing