We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Ocean Explorer/ Sea Eagle Belmar NJ

Booked a whale/dolphin watching tour on the Sea Eagle Belmar NJ. At first I thought the boat was... read more

Reviewed August 22, 2020
maryemormino
,
Saddle Brook, New Jersey
Great fishing experience

We did a Saturday evening sunset cruise a few weeks ago and had a wonderful time. The boat was not... read more

Reviewed August 16, 2020
WOScott
,
West Orange, New Jersey
Read all 22 reviews
  
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveler rating
12
7
1
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
12
7
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea bass whales fluke fishing crew ropes boat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 22 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2018 via mobile

We had a nice time because we love fishing and love being out in the water but we brought our own poles because the online process takes you through a checkout system that charges you an extra $7 pp to rent poles. So we went to a lot of trouble to pack up and bring all of our own tackle, poles etc only to find out once we got there that the poles were included with the groupon deal. While waiting to board we asked how they did on the last trip and we got some mumbles and off putting comments like “we made money” & wouldn’t answer us when we asked if they had any keepers... just said “not enough” - were turned off before even boarding. Then the spot we chose on the boat is apparently were the toilet empties into tube water every single time someone uses the head. We had the pleasure of shaking toilet paper off our poles and looking at human waste float by most of the trip. They really should be using the holding tank. Completely disgusting. Was also disappointed to see how one crew member handled a fluke that was too short and had to be thrown back. They allowed people to “pet” thd fluke as well which strips it of its mucous that it needs to survive because it doesn’t have scales. They threw it back but it will probably be dead in a few days. We’ve had much better experiences with very friendly and knowledgeable crew on other boats.

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

Great afternoon fishing , caught a few strip bass . Boats fairly clean and crew was good except for Steve who has a poor judgement to whats humor and what’s insulting , rest of crew seemed pleasant but at times not very happy maybe too much sun . The captain was welcoming and took us out to several spots , they did have a good system to get everyone set up for the most part . Thank you mr Quinn .

The ortiz family .

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank luisortiz1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2018

Went for a day cod trip recently, cod were not biting, it was just one of those days, but the captain and mate worked hard all day to try and find fish, so you couldn't ask for more. I would rate the boat a solid five if they made the cabin area a smoke free environment.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Phillyfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017

Took the 3/4 day fluke trip this Labor Day.

Crowded boat, as to be expected, but it was still very enjoyable. The crew is friendly and knowledgeable and were always close by to assist customers with landing fish, dehooking, tangles, etc.

I've been on this boat a few times and I give it two thumbs up!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Luca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017

Please don't bother to book a trip with Ocean Explorer. You'll seriously waste your time and money. Our trip was canceled multiple times without getting notified. So you'll end up going to the marina just to find out your trip was canceled (we are 2 hours away). Very unprofessional and the captain doesn't care about his customers. Take your money elsewhere.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Francesca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews