We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Seafood”

Mr. Shrimp Seafood Restaurant & Market
Ranked #1 of 122 Restaurants in Belmar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed May 16, 2019

Went here because we wanted a good seafood dinner and were pleasantly surprised. I had the catch of the day which was Halibut and it was delicious. My wife wanted fried clams and she sure got them. It was as good as any she had in Maine.
The place is clean and very open and it is BYOB which is great!
I will be returning as finding a good seafood place that is BYOB is a rare treasure and to know that their good seafood is really great is a plus!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TheSaavyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 294 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2019 via mobile

This restaurant is absolutely fabulous. Whether you want a good lunch or dinner you will find it here. And, now that they are next door in their new location it is even better!

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank HowardMichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019

It’s difficult to find fried whole belly clams outside of New England especially in the winter. Mr Shrimp had them in the menu so we took a chance. Pretty disappointing. The clams were small and over cooked. The coating... too thick... the coke slaw was good and the fries not bad. Guess there’s a road trip on my horizon this summer to Bew England.

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank Cherib536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019

Came here during restaurant week, and unlike 2 other places we visted during the week, Mr. Shrimp delivered! The menu was terrific, lots of good choices. The portions we had were also terrific.

My wife went the non-seafood route, and the chicken and eggplant rollatini were tasty. I had the mussels appetizer and paella, both were outstanding. The service was also terrific, the young lady who was our waitress was very accomodating and helpful.

We've been here outside of restaurant week, and have always had a great experience. We'll be back!

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Birchpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2019 via mobile

My friends came down from New York City and we decided to see what restaurant around our neighborhood anticipates in Jersey Shore restaurant week...well Mr. Shrimp did...so we gave it a try...

We called to make reservations...we found parking on site (no problem)...we got a booth seat by the entrance of the bar and also kitchen area (perfect)...our waitress (well...nothing to brag about)...personal seems to be high school and college kids (in training)...but we all noticed that the Manager on duty that day kept an eye on them and made sure that everything went smooth...we were really impressed with this woman...she (the Manager) showed pride in her job...and then came the food ...oh my...fantastic quality...great presentation...we were so glad that we picked this restaurant!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank andoffigoagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Shrimp Seafood Restaurant & Market also viewed

Avon by the Sea, NJ
Ocean Grove, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Mr. Shrimp Seafood Restaurant & Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing