We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saltwater Inn”
Review of Saltwater Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belmar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saltwater Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Belmar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Haddonfield
1 review
“Saltwater Inn”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had a great stay at the Saltwater Inn; Joyce and Marty were friendly and accomodating. The room and breakfast were both outstanding! The bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was large with stylish, upgraded fixtures. The Inn is situated close to the center of town with both fine and casual dining.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    7
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
90
241
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We loved our experience - the bed was super comfy and the breakfast was delightful. Marty and Joyce were gracious and accommodating in every way. Marty made a dinner reservation for us and talked with us about Hurricane Sandy's affect on the Belmar area. The price was right and the room we stayed in was perfect. The shower was perfectly hot and roomy and the toiletries were complimentary and fancy. We loved the lights and the music in the entryway - it was very peaceful. I read my book on a comfy leather coach. The neighborhood is very safe and quiet. It is a short 7-10 walk to a few restaurants and shops. The town was friendly and we will consider revisiting next time we are in the area.
David and Debra from Wisconsin

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce R, Owner at Saltwater Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thanks for the excellent review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The room was good, missing bedside tables which was an annoyance.
The food was EXCELLENT. Great breakfast all days we were there.
Location was great, walking distance to the beach and good spots for dinner.
I must have missed the mentions of God on the website which were quite prevelant at the inn (this includes a quote from God on the wall of our room.) Personally, I think a more secular approach would attract a wider range of customers. I probably wouldn't go back because of it, it made me and my spouse uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank remface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce R, Owner at Saltwater Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your candid review. We did have one or two bedrooms without an end table (Joyce is very picky and was looking for the perfect one). I'm not sure how long ago you were here but now all rooms do have an end table. We do have encouraging sayings such as "Love Never Fails" and "All Things Are Possible" at the Inn. I could be wrong but I would think you would have to be a die hard atheist to be offended by these positive sayings. The only comments we have ever received about these sayings have been positive. We have personally been encouraged by these sayings and we believe they will also encourage others. We do agree with you that our location is Great. I am a bit confused on why you state how our location is "Great" yet you rated it only "very good" and not "excellent" on Tripadvisor.
Respectfully,
Marty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband Carl and I had a fantastic and relaxing time at Saltwater Inn!! We arrived for our 26th anniversary and stay in the "Sea of Love" room which was clean and romantic. The owners were very sweet and welcoming. The breakfast was so good, we wished for a bigger portion. Also, it would be nice to be able to hang on to your beach tags for the majority of the check out day though, since most people don't leave right after check out. Overall, saltwater inn is a really nice place to stay!!!
Janette

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsfurryfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce R, Owner at Saltwater Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Hi Janette it's Marty. Joyce and I are so glad you and Carl had a great time here at Saltwater Inn. Thank you for the "Excellent Rating". Like you all of our guest are amazed by Joyce's breakfast. Yes they are soon delicious and beautiful. Some guests have commented to us that they were so satisfied they they skipped lunch. Our herb baked quiche serving is a quarter of the entire quiche with crumbled bacon, five roasted sweet italian peppers and fruit. Our homemade cinnamon Beligum waffels are four quartered waffels with sweet italian sausage and pineapple skewers. These are just a couple of examples of our breakfast. Once our guests check out of the Inn we do need the room keys and beach badges returned for the new guests checking in. We are usually fully occupied between Memorial Day and Labor Day. The good news is that if you decide to go back to the beach after checking out Belmar only charges $7. to enjoy the beach for the entire day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I received a gift from our good friends to stay at Saltwater Inn for our 25th wedding anniversary. From the moment we entered the Inn we knew it was going to be a great stay. Marty and Joyce are so warm and welcoming. The place is decorated with no detail overlooked. It has a tranquil beach feel and it is meticulously maintained. Our room was the Sea of Love. Everything in the room was brand new and beautiful. We had a king tempurpedic bed that was so comfortable it was the first time I woke up with out back pain in years ( I might have to buy one). The bathrooms are nicely appointed with Italian tile, vanity with granite counter top and frame less glass shower doors. This is not your typical tired musty old B&B. It is definitely the coolest bed and breakfast we have ever visited. If that isn’t enough breakfast is truly gourmet. The presentation is so nice I wanted to take a picture of it but it looked and smelt so good I just dug right in. Wow! Joyce is such an amazing chef. We love Saltwater Inn and we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GINO F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Saltwater Inn provided our family with a wonderful place for a getaway weekend. The accommodations were outstanding with gracious hospitality and a very inviting decor. The food was delicious and served with charm and elegance. Marty and Joyce were devoted to making our stay so special.... and attentive to our every need. We highly recommend the Saltwater Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuniG994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2012

What a great experience we had staying at the Saltwater Inn on this beautiful October weekend, it has exceeded our expectations in every area, and we have stayed in many places.
They offer great hospitality experience, from their incredibly delicious smoothie drink when first walk in to gourmet breakfast served, you wont be disappointed. My wife had a massage while I was catching up on my sports news :) When you walk in you will notice lots of attention to detail has been invested into this place. Marty & Joyce go above and beyond their duties as hosts, they know the area well and have recommended great Italian restaurant right around a corner from heir place, food was incredible, good thing we took a long walk prior to having dinner on the boardwalk :)

We will definitely return and recommend the Saltwater Inn to folks we know without a doubt.

One more thing, what a great place for family reunions, small groups to meet, hit the beach or just get away from everyday routine. Just do it, have a special time with someone who is special to you.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmar
3.4 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,500 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
641 reviews
2.9 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
271 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inn At The Shore
The Inn At The Shore
#3 of 7 in Belmar
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tandem Bike Inn
Tandem Bike Inn
#2 of 7 in Belmar
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltwater Inn

Property: Saltwater Inn
Address: 300 10th Ave, Belmar, NJ
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Belmar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Belmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SaltWater Inn is New Jersey's Award Winning bed and breakfast in Belmar's charming north end. Each of our 8 suites has a private bathroom and 1 family suite with 1 1/2 bathrooms. During your stay you will experience a Tempurpedic cloud supreme mattresses, WIFI, central heat and AC, massages, beach badges and a gourmet style breakfast. Enjoy our outdoor bistro patio dining and rocking chairs on our cozy wrap-around porch. We will distinguish ourselves by providing a boutique hotel experience to cater to your every need. We are 2 short blocks to the beach and down the block from the NJ Transit train station and on the route of the EZ ride. We are close to the boardwalk, lake, shopping, restaurants, the marina and nightlife. Let us make your experience a memorable one. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing