We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place to stay!”
Review of Tandem Bike Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tandem Bike Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Belmar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We recently stayed at the Tandem Bike Inn in Belmar, NJ for my 60th birthday surprise. (I got to fly vintage WWII airplanes at a nearby airport.) The

Tandem Bike Inn was essentially perfect. There was nothing that could have possibly been better. The Inn itself is modern in appearance yet classic.

The rooms were large and the beds comfortable. Mike and Ann Marie have thought of everything. There is off-street parking, bikes available for guest

use, as well as items for the beach including towels and umbrellas. The food was fantastic. I assume Ann Marie was doing all the cooking and it was

simply fantastic. There were muffins, fruit and oatmeal available early, and a hot breakfast later. Drinks were available all the time. What reallly

put this place over the top however, was the helpfulness of Mike and Ann Marie. Two of the three mornings we were there, we needed to go out somewhat

early, and Ann Marie made breakfast early for us. Mike got us reservations at a great local restaurant. Mike was helpful in giving us local advice and

information. Mike even listened patiently to my tales of flying a B-17 Flying Fortress and a P-51 Mustang! But Mike and Ann Marie were incredible hosts,

thinking of their guests at all times and taking care of them. We will be returning to Belmar!

Room Tip: They are all good, really!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
106
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
silver spring, md
Level Contributor
598 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Everything about this place is terrific! First, the hosts, Mike and Ann Marie, are gracious and welcoming. They do their best to make you feel that you are at your home away from home - and they do it very well. Next, the porch, living room, and bedrooms are nicely furnished and everything is in tip-top condition. The bathroom in our room was large - with a jaccuzzi and shower - and spotless. The hosts provide everything that you could need to enjoy a beach vacation, including umbrellas, chairs, beach towels, WiFi, bikes, and videos. The breakfast served each morning is superb and the food plentiful. Finally, the location is great - close to the small town center and just five blocks to the beach (with ample parking both on the street and behind the house). We hope to return often.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IAP65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehayes19, Owner at Tandem Bike Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our home and business. We recognize that you and our other guests have very busy schedules and we greatly appreciate the time it takes to provide feedback. We trust other potential guests will read your comments and give us a try. We hope to see you and your family again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Perfect in everyway. This is our third year back at the inn. Our children say it is their favorite place to stay! Mike and Annemarie could not be more accommodating. They even made special birthday cupcakes for my husband's birthday on Labor Day weekend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mroxey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

If you have had the B&B experience you know it can be somewhat uncomfortable. This place is NOT that experience. The layout of the rooms is very well done. We were very comfortable with the accommodations. Next the quality of the rooms and the hosts is exceptional. Finally, the location terrific being close to the beach and the downtown area.

In our situation we had our 2 year old son with us and they were accommodating to our needs.

Net/net if you are looking for a great place to stay near both the beach and other small town restaurants and stores this is it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmarchesiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My wife and I recently visited the Tandem Bike Inn. We were looking for a relaxing getaway at the beach, without the crowds and difficulties managing a vacation spot. The Tandem Bike Inn was absolutely perfect if you are looking to getaway. The folks running the Inn were one step ahead of us. They anticipated all of our needs. Want to eat fresh fish, overlooking the water? They set up a reservation. Want to take a bike ride? The next thing I know they were adjusting the seat on a Tandem bike. I highly recommend staying at the Tandem Bike Inn. They went above and beyond. I will be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjmule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Wonderful stay at the Tandem Bike Inn. Mike and Ann Marie were extremely nice and accommodating. The rooms were good size and very clean. Beautiful beach is about a 10 minute walk down a tree-lined street. Easy parking. Hand-made breakfast on the porch is a nice perk! Would recommend this inn to couples, singles of families.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBStamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We just returned from our visit to the Tandem Bike Inn on August 21st-23rd. We can't say enough about our hosts, Mike and Ann Marie and their beautiful inn. The inn is tastefully furnished and our room was very comfortable.Breakfast each morning was delicious as well as the afternoon home baked cookies, brownies, muffins, and breads. We enjoyed riding the bikes provided by the inn keepers, even trying out the tandem bike. Mike and Ann Marie provided beach badges as well as chairs, carts, and towels. Our hosts were so gracious and really made us feel at home. We would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast for a truly enjoyable vacation at the jersey shore.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertm46574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehayes19, Owner at Tandem Bike Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We know you are busy and this takes time. We look forward to seeing you again real soon. Remember, our reduced off season rates start September 19th and run through May 14th.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmar
2.3 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
620 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
408 reviews
3.0 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
238 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn At The Shore
The Inn At The Shore
#3 of 7 in Belmar
240 reviews
9.0 mi away
Ocean Place Resort & Spa
Ocean Place Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Long Branch
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tandem Bike Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tandem Bike Inn

Property: Tandem Bike Inn
Address: 603 10th Ave, Belmar, NJ 07719-2318
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Belmar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Belmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tandem Bike Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tandem Bike Inn is conveniently located a short one hour drive from Philadelphia and from New York City. And, the train from New York City's Penn Station, Newark's Penn Station and Newark's Liberty International Airport drops passengers just two blocks from the Inn’s front door. Located just one block off Main Street and a short walk to the beach and marina the Tandem Bike Inn is perfectly situated for a restful and relaxing vacation. We feature eight newly renovated rooms all with private baths, all new beds, guest controlled air conditioning and heat, flat screen TVs with DVD players and free movie channels, free wireless internet, home made breakfast, afternoon tea, beach tags for all guests and much more. Some rooms have Jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Tandem Bike Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing