We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Tandem Bike Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tandem Bike Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Belmar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Mike and Anne Marie are the best hosts you could ever find. Their hospitality was warm and welcoming. They offered us coupons (groupons) for area restaurants, advised us where to go and asked if there was anything special we would like for our stay. The Inn is spectacularly clean, tastefully decorated, fitted with top-notch fixtures and so, so comfortable. I have not a single complaint (other than we didn't get to stay longer). I can't imagine that once the word gets around that I'll have an easy time of getting a room next time I'm visiting — but I will be back!
Thank you Anne Marie and Mike!

Room Tip: I doubt there would be a bad one. The room we were in was quiet, immaculate and extremely comfortabl...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoJi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
There are newer reviews for Tandem Bike Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 253 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

My best friend and I loved staying at the Tandem Bike Inn recently. After being welcomed by Mike and AnneMarie, we received a tour of the beautiful Inn. Everything about the place was beautiful and clean. Our room was very spacious and accommodating. One of my favorite things about staying here were the countless snacks, coffee, Nutella cookies, and delicious breakfast made by AnneMarie. We couldn't have asked for more gracious hosts and a more beautiful place than this Inn. We look forward to our visit next summer!!!! :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Mike and Anne Marie have a beautiful and charming inn - with a seaside-themed decor, a cozy living room and comfortable, clean and well-kept rooms. Even more super are Mike and Ann Marie's thoughtful arrangements -- the delicious home cooked breakfasts, the cookies and juices for tea time or a late night snack, acess to their bikes (both tandem and singles), use of their beach tags/beach chairs/umbrellas etc, plus their recommendations on things to see/explore on the jersey shore....they told us about fireworks on the beach on a random July Friday night that we might've missed otherwise.
One constructive feedback/suggestion - maybe it was just in our room but the bed was too soft, maybe consider a new mattress?

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RominaWahab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehayes19, Owner at Tandem Bike Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you for your thoughtful review. At the Tandem Bike Inn all of our beds and mattresses are brand new. We offer firm mattresses and pillow-top mattresses. We apologize if we did not make this clear. In the future please let us know if you require a firm mattress and we will be more than happy to accommodate. Again, thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Visited for two nights this past weekend. Was down for high school multi-class reunion. Inn was recommended by a classmate who stayed here last year, the Inn's first year, and we found it delightful. From the moment of arrival we were welcomed, engaged and really taken care of. Both breakfasts were delicious. The rooms and common areas are comfortable. i can't recommend TBI more highly.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Slowhand54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed for two nights this past June and had an excellent time. Our room was comfortable, the shower was great and the flat screen TV was a pleasant surprise. I echo all of the raves about the hosts, their friendly manner and the excellent breakfast/snacks. It was great to be able to walk to dinner and shopping with lots of choices within a few blocks.

The bed was a bit soft for our tastes and they should put up a shelf in the bathroom for toiletries. These are small things that didn't really detract from our stay. Mike and Ann Marie make you feel like family which is unusual these days.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greataunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehayes19, Owner at Tandem Bike Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

At the Tandem Bike Inn we offer a few options for bed firmness. We should have made this more clear in our literature and offered to move you to another room with a bed that was more firm. We will make sure this happens on your next visit. Mike and Anne Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Mike and Anne Marie, go out of their way to be warm, gracious and accommodating. The Inn is charming, clean, well appointed and centrally located. Forget about dieting as the breakfasts are to die for. I am allergic to fragrance and they went made special efforts of washing my bedding and towels separately so I wouldn't be allergic to their detergents. They always offer gluten free goodies along with the other amazing fresh and tantalizing foods and snacks for their breakfasts, afternoon tea and snacks. The hosts are very thoughtful and the inn professionally run. Come to be pampered at this lovely Tandem Bike Inn at the shore.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanhirsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

My boyfriend took me here as a surprise this weekend, he had organized with Mike to have a professional massage therapist meet me when we arrived and it was WONDERFUL. I am always thrilled to stay here it is such a relaxing place. Ann Marie is a fantastic cook and does an amazing job at catering for my allergy to gluten. She made me gluten free brownies that my boyfriend couldn't tell were gluten free - they were to die for. And for breakfast she made me waffles and muffins, also delicious!!!!
I highly recommend staying here, I've been in Winter and Summer and both visits were wonderful.

Room Tip: The Jacuzzi rooms are FANTASTIC!!!!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsClaireL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmar
0.5 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#2 of 3 in Belmar
41 reviews
3.4 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,604 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 7 in Spring Lake
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Victorian at Spring Lake
2.2 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#6 of 7 in Spring Lake
134 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Neptune/Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tandem Bike Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tandem Bike Inn

Address: 603 10th Ave, Belmar, NJ 07719-2318
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Belmar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Belmar
Price Range: $166 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tandem Bike Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tandem Bike Inn is conveniently located a short one hour drive from Philadelphia and from New York City. And, the train from New York City's Penn Station, Newark's Penn Station and Newark's Liberty International Airport drops passengers just two blocks from the Inn’s front door. Located just one block off Main Street and a short walk to the beach and marina the Tandem Bike Inn is perfectly situated for a restful and relaxing vacation. We feature eight newly renovated rooms all with private baths, all new beds, guest controlled air conditioning and heat, flat screen TVs with DVD players and free movie channels, free wireless internet, home made breakfast, afternoon tea, beach tags for all guests and much more. Some rooms have Jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tandem Bike Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing