We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome vacation”
Review of Tandem Bike Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tandem Bike Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Belmar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2011

we stayed at the inn and had a very comfortable stay the rooms are clean and beautifully decorated with all the comforts and conveniences of home and the breakfast was delicious I highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hildaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 266 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

This is the spot in Belmar. Easy walk to the beach. Close to dining. The Inn and rooms are clean and well appointed. The proprietors are welcoming and ensure you are well taken care of. The food is outstanding. Highly recommended. Without a doubt one of the best experiences.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olivein2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

In summary:

Awesome experience, exceptionally nice and hospitable innkeepers/owners, delicious homemade breakfasts, beautiful and clean rooms, great location, and all the amenities you could need!

In detail:

My husband and I stayed at the Tandem Bike Inn for a few days last month as part of our summer vacation. We had a super enjoyable and relaxing time!

The innkeepers are some of the nicest people we've ever met. They really went the extra mile to make our stay an excellent one. They made sure we had everything we needed, and they were always available to answer our questions, provide good recommendations about the restaurants and other attractions in the area (they also had a good amount of menus and brochures that we could browse), or just to have a friendly chat. They also have a really friendly dog named Lucy that they keep in their living space (they don't usually allow her into the rest of the inn but we're dog lovers so we would ask them to let her in just for a bit to say hello).

The breakfasts were varied and each was absolutely delicious! They had juices, water and coffee available right when you came downstairs, along with some homemade breakfast pastry. We could sit inside in the air conditioner or outside on one of the chairs/tables on the spacious porch (we always sat out on the porch!). They would first bring us a small fruit appetizer (fruit bowl, smoothie, fruit with yogurt and granola) and then the main dish (egg bake with fruit tart, belgian waffle with strawberries and whipped cream, breakfast burritos). Big enough to leave us full and satisfied but not so full that we felt too stuffed.

The inn and the rooms were beautiful and very clean. The decorations had a summer breeze kind of feel to them. The common areas felt very welcoming. We stayed in room #7 (Bike Path), which is one of the smaller rooms, and yet still comfortable. The room has an A/c and an HDTV with DVD player and FiOS TV. The bathroom was big enough to be comfortable and had a safe behind the door. The toiletries were very good quality (mini Pantene shampoo and conditioner!).

The location of the inn was very convenient; the beach is only a pleasant walk away and there are many restaurants and shops at walking distance. We didn't move our car from the inn's parking lot (the inn has parking behind the building so you don't have to park on the street) until we had to leave!

Our stay included not only the beach tags and beach towels, but we could also borrow one of the many beach chairs and beach carts to put your stuff in that they had in the back. They also had some bycicles and a couple of tandem bikes in their garage that we could borrow and go to places with while we were there (they would always check them and offer to adjust the height of the seats for us). Inside the inn we had the TV-DVD player in our room, wireless internet, and there were also a good amount of DVDs, books and board games in the common areas that we could borrow while we were there. There was also a dining area that was always stocked with cold water, coffee, cups, mugs, silverware, and small plates. We could use the mini-fridge in that area to store some of the leftovers that we brought back from restaurants (and they were nice enough to take them and heat them up for us a couple of times!).

We highly recommend booking a stay at this wonderful inn!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LidiaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Mike and Anne Marie go out of their way to make you feel at home the whole time
your are there. This location provides easy access to Main Street as well as the beach
which is a few blocks away. Mike even provided a cart for our beach "stuff". The rooms are newly renovated and very clean. Convenient parking on the side of the building.
We were very happy the whole time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrt219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Wow the place was so nice! Clean clean clean and reasonable. The Inn Keepers/owners were so nice and pleasant. We will definitely b back. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was great too...

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luv2travel2anywhere2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

The Tandem Bike Inn is the perfect place for first class service, outstanding hospitality and an unbelievable warm and friendly environment. This was our second time staying here and we will continue to come back because it's a sweet touch of traditional America, just blocks away from the ocean front. I recommend the Tandem Bike Inn to anyone who's looking for the perfect place to stay!

Room Tip: Room 5 for Honeymoon Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michigan06812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We visited the Tandem Bike Inn for a Fourth of July family overnight. Mike and Anne Marie warmly welcomed our two children (ages 8 and 12), taking great pains to ensure their comfort. The Inn was an easy walk from a well guarded beach.
The room was impeccable, and the common areas comfortable and equally clean. We were greeted with afternoon tea and cookies upon check in, fed a superb breakfast of fruit, quiche and waffles in the morning, and received excellent restaurant recommendations from Mike. Belmar was an easy drive from Northern Fairfield County CT, and seems to be a cozy beach town.
It was the perfect spot for a 36 hour getaway!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank totem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmar
2.3 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 7 in Spring Lake
677 reviews
2.5 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#6 of 7 in Spring Lake
55 reviews
2 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Spring Lake
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Inn At The Shore
The Inn At The Shore
#3 of 7 in Belmar
269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Morning Dove Inn
Morning Dove Inn
#5 of 7 in Belmar
53 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avon Manor Inn
Avon Manor Inn
#3 of 5 in Avon by the Sea
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tandem Bike Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tandem Bike Inn

Address: 603 10th Ave, Belmar, NJ 07719-2318
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Belmar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Belmar
Price Range: $185 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tandem Bike Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tandem Bike Inn is conveniently located a short one hour drive from Philadelphia and from New York City. And, the train from New York City's Penn Station, Newark's Penn Station and Newark's Liberty International Airport drops passengers just two blocks from the Inn’s front door. Located just one block off Main Street and a short walk to the beach and marina the Tandem Bike Inn is perfectly situated for a restful and relaxing vacation. We feature eight newly renovated rooms all with private baths, all new beds, guest controlled air conditioning and heat, flat screen TVs with DVD players and free movie channels, free wireless internet, home made breakfast, afternoon tea, beach tags for all guests and much more. Some rooms have Jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tandem Bike Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing