We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality for price.”
Review of Belmar Motor Lodge

Belmar Motor Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Belmar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belmar Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Belmar
Reviewed December 7, 2008

Far exceeded our expectations. We wanted somewhere cheap (it was $60 for a Friday night) and within walking distance to bars/restaurants. It was very clean, and most furniture was updated. Bathroom was super clean as well. Bed was stiff with ugly yet clean bedding. Can't beat it for the price!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank keira0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 46 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2008

This motel has been around forever. It is a 2 story building without an elevator so if you have trouble with stairs ask for a 1st level room. I did have a second floor room but they changed me immediately at my request. You enter the motel from a main door way and all rooms are entered from inner hallways. This motel is right next to the train station and Main St. shopping area that has places to eat and shop within walking distances. There is a beautiful marina accross the road. It is quite a hike to the Beach if you are with out a car and lugging blankets etc. At first I thought the train noise would be a problem but at night not many trains come thru so that noise was not a factor. There was a Wedding party booked into the motel at the same time as I was but I only heard one person speaking in a loud voice around 3:30 am. Belmar is a party town in the summer so this property runs a tight ship and does not tolerate behavior that would disturb other guests. A small type written note was taped to the mirror in my room Saying they do not tolerate anyone using illegal drugs and that the proper authorities would be called. This motel is very outdated in its apperance. I had a room with 2 queen size beds a small table with only one chair. There was a desk but no additional chairs. The property does have a pool but it was closed for the season. It does not provide a coffee machine in the room. Bring your own shampoo and hairdryer as they only provide soap. The room was clean as were the towels but the towels were very thin. The beds were firm and comfortable. I asked for and was given an AARP Discount so the room was $60.00 with tax. Rates in the summer are Much Much higher. Would I stay again, yes I would. The place needs an updating but was clean. Ladies at desk were friendly and helpful. I felt secure in my room knowing security was tight. The room did not smell musty which can happen at the shore.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catwoman27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

I have stayed at this Hotel a few times... It is a short drive to the beach... It is great to walk to all the shops and bars in town.. It was clean ,it does need to be updated a bit though. I had NO problem with the staff at all.. Ask for a room closer to the road the train did wake me up in the middle of the night...

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank caliporsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2008

This hotel is your typical South Jersey beach hotel with clean but old rooms. It does bare some resemblence to a college dorm with its painted cinder block walls. The room was very clean but hasn't made it out of the late 80s. You may want to bring your own towels if you want to take a shower, they're a little scrubby looking, but again, clean. The college dorm theme returns when you interact with the staff. They let you know they're not taking any crap before you even open your mouth to check in. (I guess they've had bad experiences with senior week high schoolers and drunken college students). You are asked in a gruff manner to register the guests in the room by name. If there are more than two of you in a room, there is another charge. They're very strict about this. When I returned from a night out at 2am, the desk woman rushed out to interrogate us in the lobby about what room we were staying in and who we were. The hotel is right next to the bay, but the beach is nowhere in sight. The Belmar Train Station is steps away, but I never heard the trains. It is also close to the little Main St. in the town. There is a pool on the premises, but I think fun may not be allowed there. It closes at 6pm and I can only imagine the tongue lashing you might receive at 6:01. It was also a little filmy so I didn't venture in. Overall, this was a very reasonable place to stay for a night ($112 including tax in season on a Saturday night). I definitely would not stay there for more than a weekend. I think the staff would drive you insane if you did.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FOXY0099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2014, traveled solo
Thank CrisAreia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmar
0.8 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#2 of 3 in Belmar
41 reviews
2.2 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 7 in Spring Lake
136 reviews
2.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Neptune
Red Roof Inn Neptune
#2 of 6 in Neptune
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 7 in Spring Lake
675 reviews
2.0 mi away
Atlantic Inn & Suites
Atlantic Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Wall Township
19 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn At The Shore
The Inn At The Shore
#3 of 7 in Belmar
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmar Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmar Motor Lodge

Address: 800 River Road, Hwy. 35 & 10th Avenue, Belmar, NJ 07719
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Belmar
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Belmar
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Belmar Motor Hotel Belmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing