We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait”

Black Whale Bar & Fish House
Ranked #2 of 92 Restaurants in Beach Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Level Contributor
172 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I make sure to go to The Black Whale at least once every summer. The great bar scene and excellent food are always one of the highlights of the summer. However, we do plan in advance as it usually an hour and a half wait for a table.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mbrichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    106
    53
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Good seafood dinner”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I had dinner for the first time recently at the Black Whale. A popular place so was glad we got there early - there were people waiting outside when we left. I don't think they take reservations. It is a little on the noisy side but not unbearable.

The house salad was good and I got clams on the half shell for appetizer. Good and there was a container of horseradish so you could further spice up the cocktail sauce if desired. My wife had a special drink, The Ginger Whale. I think it was ginger vodka + lemonade + agave nectar. Good but $10.

We both really liked our dinners. She got the Arctic Char encrusted with a scallion sauce. Very tasty and the servings were good size. I got a blackened mahi-mahi with a very tasty light sauce, though I can't remember the ingredients. We were on the full side at that point so skipped dessert.

Service was very good - never waited and everything came out right. Would definitely eat there again. Fairly expensive and probably not a place I'd bring small kids. Though people do, sigh.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psteinhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahopac, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Second visit-mixed reviews”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Friend and I went back last week. We went early so we could get in. It's a fun place, very loud.
We both really enjoyed their house salad, fresh and crisp. The house dressing is quite good.
We had dungeness crab in garlic sauce. The crab was delish, but that sauce!!!! It was a horrid mess. Much better to order steamed--trust me. Service was OK. Key lime pie hit the spot.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maryann i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

food was very good, however, my order was screwed up. Although they apologized many times, they really didn't do anything special for us, like a drink or a free dessert.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rfbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brielle, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really Good Seafood!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Really good seafood. service was good. prices were high however and that's why I'm not giving 5 stars.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Whale Bar & Fish House also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Black Whale Bar & Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing