We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beach Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victoria Guest House
Ranked #2 of 8 Beach Haven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Victoria Guest House this past weekend and had a great time. The breakfast was great and the hospitality was even better. Definitely recommend if you're looking for a nice weekend getaway.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    32
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
61
225
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just came back from a long weekend at the Victoria Guest House with my boyfriend. We are in our mid 20's and this was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast. I was impressed about how clean the place was. All common areas were spotless! The hosts are very friendly and you can see them constantly taking care of the property throughout the day. Prices are high but with the perks you get (free water bottles, free bikes to ride, free beach chairs, bag, and towels), and compared to other properties in the area, I thought price was fair and worth it. Breakfast was good: fruits, yogurts, different type of bread, bagels, cakes, cereal, OJ, coffee, teas, and a hot item prepared to order every day. We stayed at room 1: huge comfortable bed, but tiny shower area. The shower head was also low, and since my boyfriend and I are both tall, we had a hard time washing our hair, but no big deal. I am sure this is not the case for every room and if we had specify that at reservation, they would have put us in a different room.Overall very pleasant experience, thank you John and Judy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Having stayed in many B&Bs and hotels, I find the best host is one that determines what each guest is looking for in their stay. For us, we wanted amenities and personal care without feeling like we were intruding in a private home, or feeling obligated to schmooze! Our stay at the Victorian Guest House was the perfect blend of what we were looking for in our short (1 night) stay. The place is very close to the beach and consists of 2 beautifully maintained Victorian buildings and a converted 2-car garage that is now a cottage with 2 rooms sharing a brick patio. There is a communal guest fridge, another fridge with water bottles, bikes free for the using (no locks!), a heated pool, and beautiful grounds. The only thing I think could have been better was the bed - but we slept well enough. Long Beach Island still has some scars from the storm in October, but for the most part everything is cleaned up and businesses are eager for visitors.

Room Tip: Never saw any room other than our own!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Llama609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just as advertised. Friendly service, and these hosts have their A-game on. Wonderful, thoughtful details everywhere -- beach totes and towels. Bikes and wine glasses. And a top-notch breakfast (although I wouldn't have minded a few more healthier options and more protein and fewer baked goods). But everyone else loved the made-to-order waffles. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serichards33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

we enjoyed 2 nights over Memorial Day weekend for a quick getaway -wish it was longer. John and Judy were fabulous hosts and the breakfasts were fantastic! Can't wait to go back. The properties were beautiful and only 1 block to the ocean. The pool, bikes, complimentary beach towels and beach bag were an added bonus!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TKCTanaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

This was both my girlfriend and I's first bed and breakfast experience, and we didn't know what to expect, so we came without expectations. To say the least, we were blown away (in a good way).

We knew we were in for a treat as soon as we arrived. We were greeted by the very friendly and hospitable Judy, as well as some baked goods, Crystal Light drink, and water on the porch. She gave us a run down on the B&B and showed us both the houses, the dining area, pool, bicycles, fridges, wine opener and glasses, beach chairs, and our room.

Our room was exceptionally clean and well maintained. We were initially wary of a certain "creepiness" associated with these types of rooms/B&Bs (again, first B&B experience), but we were soon put at ease when stepping through the door. It was comfortable and relaxing -- the perfect getaway.

A big, big plus to the Victoria Guest House is that it's located within a few seconds of a walk to the beach, and they also provide beach chairs, beach towels, and even a beach bag! Another plus are the free bikes that you can take for rides (until sunset).

Breakfast was delicious every morning, and we never felt any awkwardness among our neighboring guests in our out of our room.

We will most definitely be returning!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bchoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Good luck to the Victoria House from the devastation of Hurricane Sandy. John and Judy work very hard to make the Victoria House a great place to stay! We wish you the best! We know that John and Judy will make the Victoria House bettter than before!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dwight G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beach Haven
5.4 mi away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
1.2 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#7 of 11 in Beach Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Windward at the Beach
Windward at the Beach
#4 of 8 in Beach Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
6.0 mi away
J.D. Thompson Inn Bed and Breakfast
5.5 mi away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Guest House

Property: Victoria Guest House
Address: 126 Amber St, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-1744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Beach Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Victoria Guest House Bed and Breakfast, step back in time to the charm of the late nineteenth century. Our gracious New Jersey Shore bed and breakfast guest houses offer B&B lodging with the warmth of a friendly, family atmosphere and the refreshing feeling of a "Home away from Home." Our inn is conveniently located in the heart of beautiful Beach Haven, NJ, on Long Beach Island and only a few steps from the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victoria Guest House Long Beach Island, NJ - Beach Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing