We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Island Guest House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Beach Haven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LBI Gem”
Reviewed June 2, 2011

With a wonderful location, clean, comfortable rooms and friendly and welcoming proprietors, the Island Guesthouse is a delightful oasis in a sea of nearby strip motels and chain accommodation. Mark and Joanne, along with their lovely daughter Victoria, balance working hard to meet individual guests' needs while respecting the privacy and personal space occasionally too cloying at other Bed and Breakfasts. Breakfast served at the Inn is outstanding, with Joanne carefully supervising preparation and service to insure standards equivalent to finer resorts. In short, the Island Guesthouse is a wonderful destination and sure to please even the most discerning visitor.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSponholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    17
    9
    5
    12
See reviews for
44
82
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed this past weekend and really enjoyed our time at the Island Guest House. Gracious hospitality and comfy beds were only the beginning. The location is ideal, walking distance to everything you can imagine. Only a few houses from the beach. Breakfast was not formal as I have had at some B&B's, but it was fresh and varied. There is a casual island feel about the place. We shared a bathroom because we booked late and the other rooms with private bath were taken. This semi-private bath was always clean, but there was a short wait one or 2 times. The place was quiet at night and made for a good nights sleep. There was some streetlights outside so if you are very sensitive to light bring something to cover your eyes. I found several of the rooms to be very small, but everything was immaculately clean and the owners are always available if you need something. They welcome kids which is unusual for LBI.
All in all a restful stay in a superb location.

Room Tip: top floor rooms have shared bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wkdwtch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2010

I highly recommend this B&B!! The food was delicious, the rooms were perfect, and the hotel had its own historic charm. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madhatterxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

One of the best B&B's in tri-state Area! Romantic, Immaculate clean, Very special.With an early bird check in policy that enables you to make use of the beach, with beach passes, showers, chairs etc. all for ten dollars per person. A must ! back! Gourmet breakfasts available that you want to go off your diet for! Can't wait to go Back!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MightyMarisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Our stay at the Island Guest House was absolutely wonderful! The innkeepers, Mark and Joanne, welcome you and treat you like family. They did everything possible to make sure our stay was relaxing and worry-free. Our room was spotless, as was the whole inn, inside and out. Outside is a very large patio area with tables with umbrellas, strung lights for sitting outside in the evening, and beautiful flowers. Breakfasts were terrific! We had western egg casserole one day and cheese blitzes with blue berries the next day and both were excellent. They also serve bagels, homemade muffins, fresh fruit, coffee, tea and juice. There is afternoon tea with goodies, which we missed since we stayed on the beach late. But our room had a private deck, which was very large, had a table and four chairs and lights strung around the outside which was very pretty at night. We came back from the beach and had some drinks on our deck, it was perfect! The bed was extremely comfortable, lots of drawer space, had a private bathroom, AC, tv, it was perfect. There is a refridgerator downstairs for guests to use and also ice available in the kitchen area. The inn provides beach badges and beach chairs and outside showers. The beach is a block and half away and the inn is within walking distance to many restaurants and stores and also the surf light theater. You can walk to Murphy's for anything, they sell alcohol there, too, and ice, very convenient! You can park your car and not move it until you leave, which is what we did. Mark and Joanne were friendly and accomodating, like I said, they treated us like family. I hated to leave! And I will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerzegirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach Haven, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2010

The owners Mark & Joanne are a lovely couple who strive to make their guests comfortable. Their 100 year old inn is decorated beautifully; restored through the years with the innkeepers design talent and outstanding taste! The breakfast each day, prepared by Debbie, was spectacular! A sample could include an egg ramiken baked with cheese, grain bread, fresh parsley and bacon; assorted fruit, juice and coffee. Fresh bagels of every kind displayed on the beautiful kitchen island. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBI2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Stayed in the cottage attached to the Inn - it was a wonderful few days!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saswes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beach Haven
5.1 mi away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
16.7 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#7 of 12 in Beach Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windward at the Beach
Windward at the Beach
#4 of 7 in Beach Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Guest House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Guest House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Island Guest House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 207 3rd St, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-1857
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Beach Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island Guest House has been Voted the Best Bed & Breakfast on Long Beach Island. It is a turn-of-the-century historic Inn, located oceanside in the heart of Beach Haven, New Jersey. You can walk to everything. The owners, Mark and Joanne, work hard to make you comfortable, and provide the lovely setting, ambience, and character that a 100 year old plus Inn affords, updated with modern amenities like WIFI, flat screen TV's, A/C, etc. Some rooms have private decks, his/hers double size shower. Enjoy our bicycles, beach chairs, boogie boards and our outside enclosed shower to rinse off after the beach. Taste homemade breakfast and afternoon refreshments like cakes and cookies from family recipies, and iced tea or lemonade to quench your thirst after the beach. Enjoy coffee 24 hours, and chat with the Innkeepers about things to do in the area. Come and experience the restfulness of our Bed and Breakfast Inn! Couples can get away, and there is an area for well behaved children. We also have a cottage that sleeps 4 with gas fireplace, a bathroom with a bathtub/shower, and accepts good nature dogs. We can accommodate up to 40 people or friends per night. Our Sea Glass room, holds 36, and has a large flat screen TV for movie night or a special game or event. Our garden has 10 umbrella tables and over 300 blooms, has a lighted patio and candles in the evening. With lights shining through the many stained glass windows in the Inn. It is a perfect place to gather and chat, or be secluded together any time. Our cafe kitchen with its large island is a favorite place for guests to feel welcome to come and perch and chat with the Innkeeper over a cup of coffee or treat, or watch us prepare goodies. You can even get a recipe or help! We try to provide assistance without hovering, being sensitive to your needs to relax, and get information when you need it by always being available. We carry our phone with us always even at night when we retire. Throughout our stay, we only ask that if you have any questions or needs, to let us know, because we cannot help you if you wait until checkout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Island Guest House Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Guest House Bed And Breakfast Inn Long Beach Island, NJ - Beach Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing