We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“really terrific beach motel with great $value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Spray Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea Spray Motel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Beach Haven
Certificate of Excellence
ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“really terrific beach motel with great $value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Having our trip to Aruba cancelled last minute by hurricane Irene, and already being packed for a beach vacation, we had to quickly find an alternative. We have always enjoyed renting on LBI and after seeing that the island had not been hit by the storm, we decided to try a last minute booking. highly rated by tripadvisor and with a nice looking pool, (one of my kids does not like ocean), we called and were able to secure a spot at the Sea Spray. Travelling with the three almost adult children available, we were given a two bedroom efficiency which turned out to be the lower floor of a house across the street to the motel. it was set up really nicely and had daily maid service and we were able to use all of the motels facilities, not to mention, we were three houses away from a beautiful stretch of beach. the pool was great, and filled with pool toys for the younger set, there was ping-pong, basketball, fussball and several large gas grills for guest use. aside from clothing, personal items, and food supplies, the only thing we needed to bring,(and were informed up front) was beach towels. bring plenty! A farm market, supermarket, Fantasy Island, and many restaurants, were within easy drive or bike ride(bring your own or rent at nearby "Boardwalk shop" . really had a great and relaxing time. and may never rent again on LBI, now spoiled with maid service. Clean and well kept, friendly and helpful owners, would definitely return. location is terrific as well, safe and away from the crowds.Please understand, this is not the Ritz Carlton, but is absolutely the best of LBI. while here, don't miss the bay village pizza, and the new england chowder in a bread bowl behind it.

Room Tip: efficiency was terrific, didn't try the regular motel rooms but everyone looked happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank merylmNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    51
    14
    4
    7
See reviews for
70
33
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ellenville, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

I grew up coming here as a kid in the 70's and 80's and loved it. Brought my family back and could not have asked for more. Motel has been updated and is very clean. Grills out by the pool are a plus. The beach is right there across the street. What could be better? The staff is very helpful. Thanks Harry for the great time. Cant wait to come back again.

Room Tip: any room is a good room with a heated pool and the beach at \your doorstep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

This was a great stay for our family. I loved the quiet location, close to beach, or walk down the block to see beautiful sunset views at the bay. It had a clean and heated pool which we enjoyed. It was a quick drive to the closest market and where all the action is. I appreciated the option to prepare some meals there since they have grills, fridge and microwave. My kids loved playing foosball, basketball and ping pong. The motel is a bit dated but kept really clean. There was a little mustiness/dampness in the room but it is to be expected at the Jersey Shore. The a/c helped that! Yes, it is pricey for what it is..but that's how it is at the Jersey Shore! Remember to bring beach/pool towels and have a great time! The beach was great.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank rhonewjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Nice location so the place gets high marks but some easy FICA will make this place great my room smells like old motel maybe new furniture. For a high price place they could provide real bath towels not small cheap hand towels, I like the quiet time maybe move that to 11pm.
The wifi is non existent and staff does not acknowledge the problem easy fix just get commercial router.
Hopefully owners will read these and make upgrades.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtnkeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresskill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed here again with our daughter for Mothers Day weekend (off season) and it was a great stay as before. They made some minor changes to the room I always stay in, so it was great to see that they take care of things as needed. Sorry no long review as my previous review still stands !

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikemutant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

My husband and our four children stayed at this motel in July for a week and we had a great time..We go to LBI every summer and usually rent a house..This was a last minute trip and we had seen the Sea Spray but never stayed there..What a fabulous decision it was to try it out..The motel is directly across the street from the beach and it is located at the end of the island where it is narrow..The beach doesn't get crowded there and the motel provided beach badges for us at no extra cost..we did however have to give a credit card for security just in case we lost them..The room was pretty big..everything was extremely clean..someone was always around the property cleaning something..The pool was very big and had a lifeguard..I really liked that..I felt very safe allowing my kids to swim and play..The motel provided BBQ grills..which was great because the first night we went out to eat and spent over $200..the next day I went to the supermarket and spent less and BBQ'd 3 meals for all of us..The property was large..from my understanding there were efficiency rooms and the owners of the motel also owned homes nearby which you could rent and have access to their pool, etc...I can't say enough about the Sea Spray..Thank you to Harry and his family for making this place such an inviting..laid back home away from home to come and relax by the shore..We will definitely make a plan to be back..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Queen69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny,ny
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Our 5th year at Sea Spray. You can see my review from a few years ago, which pretty much stands as is, with a few changes.

The location is still great. Grounds and rooms are clean. Pool and beach are convenient. All good...

Some changes:
-is it possible the towels have gotten even smaller? Seriously, I think they are practically wash cloths. You'd think they could spring for some decent size bath towels, You may want to bring your own.
- is it possible that Harry has gotten nice(r)? He didn't give us any problem with spending the day at the hotel after we had checked out. Let us keep parking and beach badges without any question. Also, several of us had rooms right in a row and no hassle when we hung out on the porch after 10pm. We were pretty quiet/mellow, but in the past we would have gotten rebuked by him.
- although we didn't use it, they office is now hosting a little sundry store - things for BBQ, sun tan lotion, beach toys, etc. We still go to the large market in town to buy things but I think it's a nice addition.

Looking forward to LBI 2012 ! See ya at the Sea Spray next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank butter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beach Haven
2.5 mi away
Spray Beach Hotel
Spray Beach Hotel
#8 of 11 in Beach Haven
3.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
6.6 mi away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
La Sammana Resort
La Sammana Resort
#1 of 5 in Brigantine
4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
1.2 mi away
Windward at the Beach
Windward at the Beach
#4 of 10 in Beach Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Spray Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Motel

Property: Sea Spray Motel
Address: 2600 S Long Beach Blvd, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-1299
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Beach Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Spray Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Spray Motel is located at the Southern End of Long Beach Island. We are just steps to the Beach and Bayfront. Nestled in a secluded residential neighborhood one mile south from the center of Beach Haven you will enjoy the beach, heated pool and lounge area, picnic area with gas grills and tables in a clean, quiet, well maintained, family oriented environment. Sound like an LBI paradise? Warning: you may not want to leave our premise. Yet the lore of the Queen City abounds. Beach Haven has offered world class resort entertainment for centuries. All motel rooms are well equipped including refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, blow dryer, cable tv, ac, heat, phone, and wifi is available. We also offer efficiency and suites. The motel is across the street from the life guarded, fishing and surfing beaches. We will provide beach badges. We offer free off street parking. Our large in ground pool offers an area to lounge in the sun and umbrella covered tables. We access a several mile bike lane passing the motel. Basket ball hoop area and ping pong table for more fun in the sun. Our staff attends to details and are willing to assist. We look forward to accommodating you visit.Thank you for choosing the Sea Spray Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Sea Spray Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Spray Hotel Beach Haven
Sea Spray Beach Haven
Sea Spray Motel Long Beach Island, NJ - Beach Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing