We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sea spray motel is the best place to stay on lbi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Spray Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Spray Motel to your Saves list
Sea Spray Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2600 S. Bay Ave, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Beach Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Slingerlands, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“sea spray motel is the best place to stay on lbi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

just spent 4 fabulous days at LBI and we stayed at the immaculate Sea Spray Motel. The pool, outdoor grills and spacious rooms are well maintained. Harry and his crew take great pride in this property. Great for families. Across the street from the beach. Can't wait to return!
CP from Slingerlands, NY

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJP78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Queens, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We snuck out of town for a few days and wanted something not too crazy expensive, and not too 'budget'- we definitely found the right mix here. Overall, rooms clean and fresh (don't expect the towels to be too large!) and a very family-oriented place. The complainers on trip advisor were definitely not the guests for here- the pool and outside common areas shut down by 10/11pm as there are lots of families. Definitely not a party location, but perfect for us- we walked to the beach (literally across the street), pool was amazingly clean (owner very happy to boast about his water treatment system which felt really good), and we felt well looked after. Very nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank debjackqueens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresskill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

Stayed at this place last year when I needed a break from a crappy winter and just wanted to get away. I stated in the efficiency suite with a full kitchen/washer&dryer. It was perfect for us and our two year old. She might have been 2yrs old but she loves her independence, so a two room suite was perfect! Place was maintained well and we definitely better than most motels. The owner even gave me his cellphone number if I need to call after hours as it was the off season, which just shows how much the dude cares about his business. I am staying again this year, I know I won't be disappointed !!
People who complain, need a reality check and need to understand it is not a 5 star hotel, but for me it sure came pretty close to some 3 star hotels I stayed at, all that was missing was breakfast room service lol.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikemutant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

I can't imagine what those people who wrote unfavorable reviews are talking about. This was the cleanest and best run beach hotel I've ever seen. I usually head to Montauk for my beach vacations, but I wanted a change of scene. What a pleasant surprise. The drive was about the same, but an easier drive, the weather was warmer, the water was warmer, the beach was cleaner, and most important, the hotel was perfect, less expensive than Montauk, and right across the street from the beach entrance. If you NEED a beach view, than maybe Sea Spray is not for you, but that's the only negative I can come up with.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayuptown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

2009 we spent a week @ the Sea Spray and thought it was just perfect for what we needed - a hotel room close to the beach w/a pool that 2 families w/children could enjoy - and we did. However noted that the rooms were small and the management was less then friendly - we made some friends from another state & all decided to reunite in 2010. BIG MISTAKE!! We were schooled by the rude guy @ the front desk of his rules - in particular "The common areas close @ 10 pm" - which means very simply put - "room check" is @ 10 pm" ...and he checks from his security cameras (YUP) as well as his nightly stroll around to button things up. Being grownups we thought perhaps the rules were meant for unruly children however we soon learned that he meant everyone - including the adults paying the bill. The most condescending quote of the week from Harry (the rude guy @ the front desk) - "You like stayin' here????" ... I have never been so furious on a family vacation! So if your idea of a beach vacation includes sitting in a small, damp, stinky hotel room at night that hasn't been updated since god was little then this is the place for you! Needless to say our 7 or 8 nights in LBI (along with our $) will be spent elsewhere in 2011

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thelma2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Don't really know what other reviews mean when they say this place isn't clean. OMG I have never been to a cleaner motel on LBI. We have been going here for 7 years and have done short stays elsewhere on the island. THERE IS NO COMPARISON! Our room is always meticulous and this year was no different. As far as children, yes this is a family motel so there will be kids but we have never ever heard screaming children. Our room is more than accommodating for our family of 4 after all you are at the beach...get out of your room. The staff is always courteous and met all of our requests; in fact the owner has even helped us out when we have been on the island for the day! Would recommend this to anyone looking for a relaxed stay in a great location with wonderful people and I do every year! Thanks Harry!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeAnn1641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliffe, Colorado
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

For what they charge $170.00 a night the desk help was offensive and rude. I also found it shocking that they have the nerve to leave an envelope in the room for monies for the chamber maids when they are charging that kind of money. I would NOT stay there again, seemingly rather typical of the east coast atitude. Also the room was small.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sillybilly52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beach Haven
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
14.7 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 52 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 9,991 reviews
15.2 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 52 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
1.2 mi away
Windward at the Beach
Windward at the Beach
#3 of 10 in Beach Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
12.0 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Spray Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Motel

Address: 2600 S. Bay Ave, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Beach Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Spray Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Spray Motel is located at the Southern End of Long Beach Island. We are just steps to the Beach and Bayfront. Nestled in a secluded residential neighborhood one mile south from the center of Beach Haven you will enjoy the beach, heated pool and lounge area, picnic area with gas grills and tables in a clean, quiet, well maintained, family oriented environment. Sound like an LBI paradise? Warning: you may not want to leave our premise. Yet the lore of the Queen City abounds. Beach Haven has offered world class resort entertainment for centuries. All motel rooms are well equipped including refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, blow dryer, cable tv, ac, heat, phone, and wifi is available. We also offer efficiency and suites. The motel is across the street from the life guarded, fishing and surfing beaches. We will provide beach badges. We offer free off street parking. Our large in ground pool offers an area to lounge in the sun and umbrella covered tables. We access a several mile bike lane passing the motel. Basket ball hoop area and ping pong table for more fun in the sun. Our staff attends to details and are willing to assist. We look forward to accommodating you visit.Thank you for choosing the Sea Spray Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sea Spray Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Spray Hotel Beach Haven
Sea Spray Beach Haven
Sea Spray Motel Long Beach Island, NJ - Beach Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing