We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Reliable Dining Experience”

Howard's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 91 Restaurants in Beach Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Jersey
Level Contributor
89 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good Reliable Dining Experience”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Good fresh fish and seafood and attentive service. Waits can be long if you hit it at the wrong time. The French fried lobster is okay but seems over-rated. Good for a piece and an app but wouldn't want a whole meal of it. Boulabaise was very good as well a the soft shell crabs and tuna. Nothing fancy here or over the top but not bad....

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanoNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    42
    27
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Everyone was happy”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Howard's opens at 5 pm. Early bird diners get 10% off till 6. Once.the doors open the tables fill up. By 6:00 lines are out the door daily. We were told 1hr wait. We. Were in no rush so we waited outside with the Many others. Howard's is right next to Southwicks marina. The sunset was beautiful over the marina. 45 minutes and we are in. Service was fast as can expected...it was packed. Bread was warmed. Salads were large. Lobster bisque was filled with hunks of lobster. Fried calamati had a nice spice after taste. Dinner was chicken scampi. Large portion and nice and garlicky. I added a piece of french fried lobster for 5.95. WOW!!! Next time I am ordering that. The others had the seafood combos broiled and fried. Both looked appetizing and were plentiful. It is pricey, but what isn't on lbi. Don't forget it is byob.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vikster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First time”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our first time here. It was recommended by a friend and was very good. We had clams in wine and garlic sauce for appetizer, then the LBI renowned french fried lobster along with a seafood platter. All was very good and would go back again if the opportunity came about....BYOB also which is nice

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cakemankeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central nj
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“4th Time Was Not The Charm...”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

So this was our fourth, and by far, dining experience at Howard's this summer. The first time we came, we found the food to be excellent, albeit a little pricey. This time, the fried portion of our meal, shrimp and lobster, was excellent, but the lobster bisque was not a great as usual, the rolls were cold and stale, the salad was a disgrace...limp with the taste of having laid around for too long. The baked potato was burned...to the burned smell permeated the whole potato. Our waiter was new, so we will disregard his service. All in all, we have mixed feelings on Howard's. We want to go back, but are afraid of what we will find. I think what really turned us off was the almost slimy salad. ugh.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank dory1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
126 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Friends came for a few days at the shore. We decided on Howard's because it is consistently good. Two of us have been to Howard's several times. All were pleased with our entrée selections. I had the broiled flounder, which was very good. I don't recall what the others chose, but they all had the same entrée from the specials of the day. Some of the others also enjoyed the lobster bisque. Salads were included with each entree, and they were very fresh. Service was good, and we all enjoyed the evening.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rmw52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Howard's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Howard's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing