We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Seafood, great Atmosphere”
Review of The Clam Bar

The Clam Bar
Ranked #22 of 92 Restaurants in Beach Haven
Restaurant details
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Seafood, great Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

This place is the best, semi circle bar seating, intimate space, Nell takes care of you and everyone else at the same time...respect! Eyes in the back of her head, watching everyone, making sure they have what they need before they know they need it. Resilient restaurant curator...Kudos to Nell! Love ya! See you this week;).
The Harnetts.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    11
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Seafood on the Island”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

You won't find better seafood in LBI but the place can be a little quirky. When you arrive, write your name on the board and wait outside if there are no available seats. However - after going for 10+ years we've now just learned if you're a party of 2 and there are no other 2s in front of you AND the side tables are open, just check and you can seat yourself. Also, no cell phones!

Menu is on the board and specials are underneath. I highly recommend the sauteed mussels and if they have the soft-shell crab, get that. Scallops, oysters and fried seafood combo are also excellent. This isn't a spot for young kids since you have to sit on barstools but older ones would like it and can get fried flounder or shrimp.

Only open Memorial Day - Labor Day.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ahoy718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Are you looking for some raw clams or oysters? How about a soft-shell crab sandwich, chowder or other freshly cooked seafood? You want to have a unique experience?

This place is amazing known to locals and their friends.

The experience is not just having the amazingly fresh seafood sitting around a bar, You may feel a "Twilight Zone" moment (in a good way)

The signs on the walls with many many rules are a treat (NO CELL PHONES, NO WAITING INSIDE)

Actually, the manager, Nell..("Diva") is very friendly and shucks and cooks most of the specialties herself. The clam chowders are excellent.

This place is a gem.
BYOB and bring some cash (no credit cards), it is pricey.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toly_Mil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Freedom, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Good food Good prices”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Nothing fancy. Just good food at a decent price. It wasn't crowded when we went on June 26 but Beach Haven wasn't really busy either. I will go back.

Helpful?
Thank stevenjamielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fresh Seasfood @ Reasonable Prices on LBI”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Whenever I am on Long beach island I always end up at some fancy over priced restaurant where the waiter looks like he is doing me a favor waiting on me and charging me $35.00 for two shrimp carved up to look like a gargoyle. The fat man likes good food served in a modest setting. This place looks like
an old house remodeled into an eatery. As you enter there is a huge sign”no cell phones”,and a stern faced madame letting you know this is food joint not some yup head chat and mix bistro.We love fresh flounder so we ordered a plate of the stuff. It was so fresh I could still taste the bay. I had a bowl of red clam chowder. In front of me was a bucket of the real deal oysterettes My bowl looked like it has 20 snowballs floating in it. There was a huge amount of real clams in it. It had the right blend of spices and potatoes. French fries have no taste they absorb their flavor from the oil they are cooked in. That oil was fresh and laid in a very nice crunchy taste. We also had an order of clam casino which the madame who runs the joint has invented. Was it my favorite,no,but huge clams and nice flavor. My only regret was not getting the clam strips..When an oder passed me by I wanted to have one more entrée but at that juncture I was full.$32.00 was the tab and that included my drink. When you go in be ready with an order,no cell phone,and try to grab a seat .The clams and mussels are very large and the price is very reasonable for LBI.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keyasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Clam Bar also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to The Clam Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing