We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but nothing memorable”

Buckalew's Restaurant & Tavern
Ranked #12 of 93 Restaurants in Beach Haven
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“OK but nothing memorable”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The restaurant was very noisy when we were seated but that was probably due to the
acoustics of the room and some of the loud patrons at one table who had likely been
drinking a bit before eating. But once they left the noise level went down somewhat,
although still a rather loud restaurant for dinner. But, maybe that is the type of
atmosphere they are trying to foster. Of the 4 of us, 3 had cold food on our plates Which was supposed to be hot. Probably they had to wait for the fourth plate to be cooked and the others suffered by sitting too long. The food was good although the food temperature issue would preclude me from eating there again. We told the waiter who apologized but did not do anything about it.

After dinner we sat in the bar side to listen to the band which was quite good. It seemed
that the vast majority of the patrons around the bar knew each other.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    126
    72
    38
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere & decent food.”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The atmosphere is open & airy (although they should lose the ferns - they make it look dated). The menu is broad & the food was good.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Indigo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Tonawanda
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food and family atmosphere”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Seems like every place on LBI is loud and busy, but that's what you get on the Shore in July. Buckalew's had plenty of seating (we had seven people) and a lot of activity. The food was good, although not very memorable. The service was friendly, an prices were in line with other spots on the shore. A pretty good beer and wine list, so we enjoyed our dinner.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jpmcblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Save your money! Order pizza or cook in”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We love LBI have been vacationing here for years, we took a break from LBI to venture elsewhere and decided to come back to LBI for a few days. Buckalews food quality is absolutely unexceptable. We were here during 4th of July, yes everyone knows they are known for their Chicken Pot Pie @ $15.00 which has a nice flaky crust but no flavor. STAY AWAY from the Tomato and Mozzarella Salad/ Tower. First of all there is no tower, most people from Jersey know Jersey tomatoes are in season in the summer, these were not ripe at all, the mozzarella WAS NOT FRESH MOZZARELLA, it tasted like it was Belgioioso from Shoprite they charged $12.00. I could go to my Italian Deli in Denville pay $8.99lb for freshly made salted mozzarella. The tower was three tomatoes, with half sliced cheese, little drizzle of balsamic, no pepper etc, disappointment. The Chicken Valencia is an embarrassment and tasted and looked like a microwave meal. This is what I got for $23.00 - a dish of chicken that was overcooked, tough, and tasted like they precooked it earlier in the day to slap it under a hot lamp to stay warm, smacked cheese on it, and reheated, the rice tasted like rice a roni and the food was luke warm. Don't let the crowds fool you and lure you into thinking wow the place is busy the food has to be good. We are not restaurant snobs, but know reheated food and freshly prepared food. We will not be going back to Buckalews, I prefer to eat pizza, cook at home, or spend our hard earned vacation money at a restaurant that takes pride in the food that is coming out of the kitchen.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tackandjibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hainesport, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun Bar”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Always something going on! Fun spot for friends to hand out. It can get a little crowded late at night.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank curry49ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buckalew's Restaurant & Tavern also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Buckalew's Restaurant & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing