We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach Dining”
Review of Carmen's

Carmen's
Ranked #12 of 100 Restaurants in Beach Haven
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Opening for the season on April 13 Come join us
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Really wonderful vacation dining. Seven adults at post happy hour dinner at the beach. Everyone was really impressed with the food and service. Good mix of entrees featuring seafood, meats and traditional Italian. Try thr scallops with risotto, you won't be disappointed. BYOB.

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank laser20814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 112 of 168 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was a breath of (slightly refined) fresh air during our week in Beach Haven. The restaurant has all the hallmarks of a high-end dining establishment (snug booths, linen table cloths, dim lighting, etc.), but without any pretentiousness. Feel free to stroll in without a reservation straight from the beach, and be welcomed like you just walked into the Ritz Carlton.

The owners are also the hostess & chef, and they are great at what they do. The food is excellent, the portions are very generous, and they make each guest feel right at home. The chef came to our table twice to make conversation and ask how everything tasted. At the end of the meal, he gave our daughters each a bowl of ice cream and chocolate syrup, on the house.

The servers were very good, making multiple visits to check on things. they knew the menu inside and out and answered all of our questions and made some great suggestions.

The prices are very reasonable, especially considering that they are practically the only "nice" restaurant around, and they serve dinner late and stay open till the last customer is leaving. Really very enjoyable, and would love to go back here next summer.

Like so many other places, this is a BYO, so be sure to pick up a bottle of something nice before you arrive. You and your companions will not be disappointed.

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JayInAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Going to LBI. Don't miss having dinner at Carmen's. . It's a MUST place to eat. Super delicious upscale food for adults and good food for kids. Went with my two grandsons 4 & 8 and the waitress asked if we would like for their dinner to be served before ours and we said yes. We didn't wait too long after for our. Don' miss out on this one.

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marge N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

What a great experience we had at Carmen's! Delicious food, great menu selection and terrific service! We frequent area restaurants each summer for vacation and have not been overly impressed with our options (aka Marlin's and Buckelew's were average at best). Carmen's offered a great variety of menu options. --Our eight year old daughter even found great options on their kids menu. The staff was incredibly welcoming and customer service focused in every way (ie providing an extra large bowl of soup when our server found out that my husband would be sharing his soup with our daughter). Nick was our server and I told him that he was a natural at his job. --He just is so positive and personable and made us all feel welcome. We left our dinner feeling very pleased with our dining experience. We look forward to returning to Carmen's when we are back on LBI next year.

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sallyb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Had a scrumptious dinner here. Our server was awesome. The decore is lovely and the appetizers and menu choices are perfect

Date of visit: July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gravos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmen's also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Harvey Cedars, Long Beach Island
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Carmen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing