We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to grab breakfast!”

The Chicken or the Egg
Ranked #1 of 93 Restaurants in Beach Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Takeout
Description: When we boast that there is something for everyone, it's not without merit. There are classic items and ones that are completely original and unique. And then there are the wings... A lot of places talk a good buffalo wing, but the "Chegg" as it is now commonly known, truly delivers. The wings are big, juicy and available in 17 sauces, both Original Breaded, or Naked. The Chicken or the Egg has become know locally and Nationally for these big beauties. And best of all, the whole menu (breakfast too) is available 24 hours a day (in season). But for us, it's not just about the food. It's about family. It's about camaraderie. It' s about good times. So come io in and join the family. Join the fun. You'll be happy you did. Oh, and sorry about the lines. People dig us. But it' s worth the wait.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to grab breakfast!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Really enjoyed Chicken OR The Egg. Great breakfast options, went mid week at the beginning of the season so no terrible wait. You can always order take-out to avoid the lines as well.
Good quick service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bethie333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    183
    59
    27
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marlton, New Jersey, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quick lunch”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stopped by on 6-6-14 for a quick lunch before hitting the beach . What a pleasant surprise this little restaurant was. Quick attentive service, excellent diner style food in a kitsch style eatery. I was kind of surprised how many people were eating here at the time that we stopped by. And when we left there was people waiitng outside to be seated. I understand why. Definitely will be stopping back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahanoy City, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very Good Anytime”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

I eat here every year for my annual trip to LBI. Great breakfasts, Best wings on the Island. Open 24-hours - expect to stand outside at times... they get that busy.

Helpful?
Thank MCFDTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Wings on the Planet”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I truly believe they are the best, it's insane. Been here 100x. The place is a factory so you have to be somewhat patient, but the staff does a superb job managing expectations for how long the wait will be, etc. Funny seeing this #2 behind Skipper Dipper - it's more like #1 and # 1A! love em both

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt3222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown NY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always a great breakfast!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Had the mexican omelet and it was great. My friend had the Hungryman breaKfast and everything was delicious. Veronica was a great waitress and I hope she's there the next time I go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank reny49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chicken or the Egg also viewed

Surf City, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Surf City, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to The Chicken or the Egg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing