We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place even for a local!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windward at the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windward at the Beach
Ranked #4 of 10 Beach Haven B&B and Inns
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
“Great place even for a local!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Our group had a great time at the Windward. Tammie accomodated our early and late arrivals without question. We had a great time and a great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CPJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Randolph, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

My family and I stayed there for Memorial Day..The Windward was awesome! The owners are so friendly and welcoming. It was a wonderful experience! The location was perfect for us (a few strides from the beach).. We will definitely stay again..
Thank you for the memories Windward!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kakerr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Vermont
Level Contributor
200 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

We visited over Labor Day and liked the atmosphere at the Windward a lot; it's also well positioned near the beach and a short walk into town. The overall facility is in need of sprucing up. I understand that this is new management, and things take time, but the overall feel of the place is sort of 80s furniture with a fair number of miles on the odometer. We also would have appreciated coffee and maybe some light breakfast (though there's a good bagel place in walking distance), which I understand may also be in the works. We did enjoy our stay and would definitely return. We totally second the view expressed by another reviewer that this is a much more pleasant place to stay than the beachside "resort" hotels in town (the concept is a gross misnomer here-- they are like 60s hotels with the charm of a Howard Johnson motoer lodge).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ordinarymind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PureJerseyShore, Owner at Windward at the Beach, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
We hear ya.. and we obey. Common areas have been upgraded including wrap around porch & outdoor patios. We are upgrading one room at a time. On the calendar #3, #1, #4, #5... more to come. And yes, there will be coffee in the lobby, with special treats at random times during the day.Why should breakfast get all the attention? Thanks for the feedback, much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

We have stayed in hotels the last two years and were staying at an ocean front suite and wanted to extend our stay for the nice weather that finally appeared. My family and I were fortunate enough to discover the Winward. We enjoyed it a lot more then our ocean front suite and found it to be the ideal place for a beach vacation. Tammy was exceptionally accommodating and it is nice to see the place back in her family's hands, because it is evident that she takes pride in it. The enclosed porch and outdoor tables help make the place feel like your own home. Well worth the trip from Long Island. Can't wait to go back next year and have already spread the word to our friends. Hopefully they don't get the room we want :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

We love the new look and feel that innkeepers Tammie and Chris have created. We stayed here years ago when Tammie's parents, Fred and Jean ran this beautiful and historic inn and the second generation has learned well from them!! Just steps (literally) from the beach and across the street from a park, this location could not be better. My teenager enjoyed being able to walk to Beach Haven attractions such as the Thundering Surf and Bay Village. This is the place to stay on LBI!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank njgirlatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Since new management has been in place, the rooms are exceptionally clean. Windward at the Beach is definately a place where we will stay again, steps from the beach as well as many local attractions and restaurants.

The staff was very friendly and helpful in guiding us throughout the town.

Wonderful Trip!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maureenmalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresskill, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

This was a fun, relaxing and comfortable place to stay. New owners/hosts Tammie and Chris are updating and upgrading the historic Windward at the Beach. They were warm and welcoming and pay total attention to the details. Our room was spotless, comfortable and spacious, and even though it included a fully equipped kitchen, we shared the outdoor BBQ and picnic area in the evenings. I also loved the community indoor porch with its sitting area and loads and loads of books. The center of town is within walking distance, the beach (badges were provided) is one block away- the location just can’t be beat! I will definitely stay at the Windward whenever I come to LBI!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank feebureeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beach Haven
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
1.3 mi away
Spray Beach Hotel
Spray Beach Hotel
#8 of 11 in Beach Haven
3.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
5.4 mi away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#7 of 11 in Beach Haven
4.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windward at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windward at the Beach

Property: Windward at the Beach
Address: 200 S Atlantic Ave, (Amber at Atlantic), Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-1752
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Beach Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 60 steps to white sand of LBI, Windward at the Beach in Beach Haven, NJ, exudes a beach/surf vibe. Relax, unwind, rejuvenate - it's the Pure Jersey Shore! Many lodging options, including studios, efficiencies and two room suites with full kitchens - children welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Windward at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windward At The Beach Hotel Beach Haven
Windward At The Beach Long Beach Island, NJ - Beach Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing