We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like it used to be”
Review of Long Beach Island

Long Beach Island
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Beach Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Seymour, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Like it used to be”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

LBI is what America used to be. Mostly families and more families with more kids than adults on the pristine beach. Big waves too. By 6 pm when most have left the beach almost no litter left behind. We don't bother to lock our rental when hitting the beach. Most renters come back year after year which tells you all you need to know. Lots of restaurants and ice cream shops. Fantasy Island is great for kids.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jrwets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    66
    20
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Most beautiful part of the Jersey shore”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This Jersey girl loves LBI. Charming, great beach, good restaurants, ecletic stores. Loved the vintage shop. Can't wait to go back!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank megtaylor10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach Island NJ
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always on LBI”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I sell and rent homes on LBI, I could not think of a better place to spend your time. Whether with family- little one's love Surflight Theater and Thundering Surf and Fantasy Island. Great restaurants, just wish they were all open year round :(

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just beautiful!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Nice and quiet this time of year. About 15 ppl on the beach!
Really relaxing! Great weather too. Only drawback to traveling this time of year is that some of the restaurants are closed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 1AllStarMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice, Quite Vacation”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

If you like seeing the ocean from soft sandy beaches, good restaurants, relaxing getaways, then Long Beach Island is the place for you. My wife and I have been vacationing on LBI for over 25 years and, hopefully we will continue to vacation there for another 25 years. We just love it on LBI.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wpm60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long Beach Island also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Long Beach Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing