We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Loud!!!”

Restaurant at Engleside Inn
Ranked #8 of 92 Restaurants in Beach Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Saddle River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Extremely Loud!!!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We went because it looked nice, quiet, reserved.....it was anything but. The service was friendly but the atmosphere was terrible. Two large parties of drunks hootin and hollerin, cacklin. It was really a poor choice. The food is overpriced and very much like wedding hall food. The calamari tasted awful, just like plain, dry cornmeal flour, gross. I asked for my chicken well done and waitress said no problem....came out completely raw in the middle. Waste of money. There really is no decent place to eat on this island and many people we talk to agree.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank windowworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    46
    20
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“1st time here.”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the food and choices...nice drink menu also.Thought it was a little loud but still could talk. Great place to go before shows @ Surflight Theatre

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cakemankeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My older married kids love ordering from here late at night. I think the breakfast is decent, not worth waiting an hour or more in line though.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 530123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food. Old School Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were hesitant to go here because we thought it would be too "old-timey." While we were right about the atmosphere, the food was actually quiet good and our server was excellent. The dining room was clean and updated, but too dark and closed in for a shore venue. Put in some large windows and brighten it up and you've got a winner here. One person in our party enjoyed the prime rib, another the panko-encrusted scallops, and another a sea bass special. We were all very pleased with our dinner and would go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Woofus25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good sushi”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is an old-time restaurant in Beach Haven, NJ. The décor is a bit dated, and it was fairly loud and bright. The food however was excellent - both the sushi and the pasta dishes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jjmjrmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at Engleside Inn also viewed

 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Restaurant at Engleside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing